A Hollow Dream of Summer’s End

A Hollow Dream of Summer’s End
by Andrew Van Wey

Rating: 5/5

Being the first time I read anything by Andrew Van Wey, I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The first third or so of the book had me fooled. It seemed like an almost bucolic account of how 3 friends about to enter fifth grade spend their summer together and it was pleasant enough. That feeling of not a worry in the world, the adventures, the comradeship, the typical dialogues of 12 year olds, how their personal problems did not seem to matter because that summer was going to last forever. Or it should have.

Then the terror hits you massively, totally unexpected. I had glimpses of It, by Stephen King and Coraline by Neil Gaiman, but overall the book morphed itself into something unique and not any less terrifying. I honestly felt physically sick during some brilliantly written bits. There were a few typos, but I still highly recommend it to everyone. I had not felt this scared from reading a book in a long time. And the fact that it has a sequel has me very excited.

Read on August 30, 2014
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

