The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes (The Sandman #1)

The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes (The Sandman #1)
by Neil Gaiman

Rating: 3.25/5

I am new to the comic book universe. This was the first thing of the kind that I read since Disney’s stuff when I was a kid. So it’s all very odd and alien to me.

I have been hearing about the Sandman series for several years now and lucky for me I found this nice edition. As odd as the experience was, Gaiman gripped me as usual. The guy’s versatility never ceases to amaze me.

The combination of the words and artwork convey a nightmare/dreamlike atmosphere when need be but also very real when necessary. The way it is written, the songs, it all contributed to a certain ambience. And it was pretty terrifying at times.

It was ok, I sped through it in a few hours. But it’s just not my thing. At times I found it hard to follow the correct sequence because of the way the graphics are presented. And, to me, it just lacks something that I can only get through a novel. That depth of characters, I suppose, and how we can build the characters and scenario in our minds, so it’s different for every reader.

It was still a pleasant experience and I hear following volumes are much nicer than this introductory one. I will most likely buy them. This one gets 3 to 3.5 stars from me.

Read on August 21, 2014
Review posted on Aug 21, 14

Chat with me!

