Candidate (Book of Immortals #2)

Candidate (Book of Immortals #2)
by Kassandra Lynn

Rating: 4.5/5

Candidate is the second book of the Book of Immortals series. You don’t have to read the first book but I highly recommend it.

Some things that put me off in Disciple still stand, such as the flickery notion of time, how hundreds of years pass by in a glimpse without the characters doing anything, all the seclusion and their sole purpose seeming to be ‘levelling up’… Makes me feel like even though the main character is now a couple hundred years old mentally she is still in her late teens, which is an odd notion.

There were quite a few spelling errors and I wish the chapters had been divided differently. Also, Eaden didn’t sound like a child at all, especially when the narrative describes her as being 3 years old, and I wish Shann had spent more time with her.

But overall, I enjoyed the book a lot. In Book of Immortals: Candidate we get to explore things that were only mentioned in Disciple, like the World of Devils and the serf reality. The change of scenery was very much appreciated. I was very happy to see Celine/Shann reunited with Aaren and I secretly hope she never returns to the ‘real’ world. I despise Erik more and more, even though he keeps helping Celine and obviously cares about her, but the fact that he would do despicable things only because he stubbornly refuses to admit the World of Immortals/Devils as his new reality really makes me unable to like him.

This book actually felt like it had a sense of purpose other than the relentless levelling up, which allowed me to feel much more engaged in the story. That and the fact that there didn’t seem to be any obvious good or bad guys, everyone has feelings and wishes and hopes. It was never boring, always engaging, and I actually almost cried at the end. Even though I am feeling pretty sad after that ending, I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

4.5 stars.

Read from January 03 to 04, 2015
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

