Lake Of Sins: Escape (Lake of Sins #1)

Lake Of Sins: Escape (Lake of Sins #1)
by L.S. O’Dea

Rating: 4/5

Throughout Lake of Sins, we accompany Trinity as she meets many different characters in a quest originated by her innate curiosity – something that is not appreciated in her post-apocalyptic world, where the inhabitants are no longer human following a Terrible Sickness and death of humankind, as well as many animals. The current races are divided by classes, each very different from each other and with its own purpose.

Trinity lives amongst the Producers, although her father is House Servant, so she is… different. All her life she has had to hide those differences since, if anyone found out, she would most likely be killed.

Overall, I liked the main character, though I thought she grunted, snorted and especially frowned too much. It got a bit repetitive. But I did appreciate that whenever she had a more childish attitude, she would realize it just after she had acted that way, or said those words.
I struggled quite a bit in the beginning, who and what she was struck me as confusing because it is said she part Producer, part House Servant, that Remy, a producer, is not her real father, but we are not told who that is until much later, and even then it’s only a brief mention of his name.

As for the other characters, I felt too many of them were introduced too suddenly, and therefore had trouble remembering who was who for a long time, so I wish I had realized there was a Characters list at the end of the book. Even so, most of them had their own voice and it was interesting to witness their evolution, particularly Troy’s. At first, he seemed like a really good guy, who must struggle very much, not being able to be with the one he truly loves. However, as the story progresses, I discovered he is one who does not look at the means to achieve his goals; anything is game, including blackmail, and worse. So I really appreciated being introduced to a character like that, who was not obviously good or bad, just trying to be happy and being very misguided in the way he tries to achieve that, completely degenerating along the way. It was all very believable.

I particularly relished the relationship between Mirra and Gaar. Their companionship seemed obvious, none the other’s master, and although they are both very clearly wild beings, their relationship appeared so very balanced, each knowing how far they could go.

The main issues that confused me are the following:

– I wish other names had been chosen for The Great Death and Terrible Sickness, they seemed overly simplistic to me. I could not even figure out how the two things differed;, they seem to be referring to the same, and I wish this subject had been further explained.

It is said that Trinity’s mother swapped her name with her younger sister who had died. Does that mean her real name is not Trinity? Everyone calls her that. Did they move to that place later on? What exactly is her real name? Or her sister’s?

I had a bit of trouble picturing some of the characters. For instance, the trackers, particularly the head, the body was well described. I imagine them as big wolf types, not sure if it’s accurate. I would at least like to know if their heads resemble humans or animals the most. Also the producers: I had trouble picturing someone whose width is almost the same as their height. I wish the Characters section in the end had illustrations.

– I would also have liked the descriptions of what each class/race is entitled to be more specific, since the synopsis focuses on those differences a lot. I would have liked to know what ticked each of them, how their day to day was, etc. The whole idea of guards in packs getting wild sounded pretty weird to me, for instance.

I wish I had known what Mirra did during all her absences (including before she met Trinity, since Gaar said she always left the little ones with him) and Gaar’s before they went to the tracker camp. It’s almost as if their absence was created purposefully so that Trinity could meet Jethro and Kim, and learn everything she did during that time.

– The pronoun she always seemed to refer to Trinity, even if she wasn’t in the centre of the scene, which got pretty confusing. Often times I thought the description addressed Mirra, amongst other characters, and it was always Trinity instead.

– I don’t get why and it bothered me a bit that the plural of Almighty is Almightys instead of Almighties.

Close to the end, when Troy pressed Trinity’s hand to release her claws, I don’t get how he could have missed the gnawed ropes.

In the characters list at the end, it is said Almightys have dark hair and white skin, but earlier in the story we are told of the bluish-white complexion of the Almightys.

Again in the Characters list, a Jethro Remore is mentioned as being Almighty, son of Benedictine. I don’t recall we being told his second name is Remore and it gets confused because a guard named J.R. was mentioned.

Mirra mentioned river people are tasty. How are there more river people, other than Christian? Did he reproduce? How?

Conclusion:

I really enjoyed the world creating in this book. I found it enthralling that none of the characters were human. Mating instead of marrying, changing partners according to breeding rate, the whole scent thing and other animal instincts, making them seem so wild, and yet so close to humans, enough for the reader to relate. To me, it was such a breath of fresh air that I could not help but thoroughly enjoy it.

Another thing I absolutely loved is the absence of romance. Trinity was never looking for a mate, only for friendship, someone that would love her for who she is and not mind her differences, even embracing them. Lots of passages were witty, funny and emotional (like the scene where Trinity knows she will not see her mother again).

I usually cannot pinpoint what exactly would be needed for a book to be worth 5 stars, but in this case I can safely say that if each class had been more thoroughly explained and the issues I mentioned above addressed, I would most definitely had given it the max rating. It was a very interesting trip and I would love to read the following books in the series.
This is good fantasy. Read it.

Read from January 25 to 27, 2015
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

3 thoughts on “Lake Of Sins: Escape (Lake of Sins #1)

  1. Pingback: Lake Of Sins: Secrets In Blood (Lake of Sins, #2) | Ana's Lair

  2. Pingback: April 2015 Wrap Up | Ana's Lair

  3. Pingback: Guest post – Lake of Sins character hierarchy – L. S. O’Dea | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

