Possession Of My Soul (The Three Immortal Blades #1)

Possession Of My Soul (The Three Immortal Blades #1)
by Kia Carrington-Russell

Rating: 3.25/5

Possession of my Soul is the first book in a series which tells us the story of Karla Grey, a seemingly ordinary 17 year old who soon finds her life completely changed. Apparently she has been cursed and now has to deal with a whole new world, as well as a strange presence in her soul, trying to take over her thoughts and body.

Positives

– I liked that the romance part wasn’t obvious.

– There are some interesting ideas here and overall I enjoyed the world created by the author.

– Some scenes were pretty exciting.

– In other books of the sort, I often find that the progression in fighting skills is too quick or non-existent. The main character goes from being ordinary to super powerful in a heartbeat. Here we don’t have this issue, because the being who possesses Karla takes over in the fighting scenes.

– I was pleased to see that even though this is the first book in a series, there were no excessive cliff-hangers in the end. You want to know what comes next but the book is still enjoyable as a stand alone, there is a fair sense of closure.

– I liked how some of the characters weren’t obviously good or bad. It really all depends on perspective.

– The way the story was presented was quite appealing. The prologue being the turning point in Karla’s story and then chapter 1 going back a few days previous, to introduce us to her regular life before everything started crashing down.

Negatives:

– Some things were very repetitive. I kept having déjà vu feelings at whole descriptions in general and certain expressions in particular. For instance, the fact that the author kept saying all the guys but Greg had a muscular frame got very old very fast, as well as the descriptions of hair and eyes.

– Some references to what had been said previously made no sense, things that made me go back and reread and see if I missed something or misread it. Example:

“It just means my little girl’s opening up from her shell (…) I hated it when she still called me her ‘baby girl’. She didn’t. She said little girl, not baby girl.

(…)disrespect and defend that girl?(…) How am I a little girl? Again, nowhere does it say little girl, just girl.

– At times the narrative did not feel very realistic, like when Karla first met and thought about Lucas. It didn’t feel like he was a stranger, something was off. He was already ‘Lucas’, not ‘that guy’ or ‘that strange young man’ or whatever.
Paul’s intense interest in her seemed off as well, one minute they don’t hang out at all and then next he is buying her an expensive dress. I didn’t even get how he could afford to buy it. I mean, where did he get the money? We don’t know much about him other than he likes to use his fists, has green eyes and dark hair.
I just didn’t get why he would drop everything to go with Karla towards the end. Maybe he had a crush on her for a while, but sorry, leaving everything like that for someone who doesn’t even share the same interest as him just doesn’t strike me as realistic. Where’s his family in all this? His friends? He’s a popular guy at school, for crying out loud! Why would he give everything up for someone he can’t even really know, since he never really spent time with her?
And Lucas. He went to live with Seth and Helena and the others since he was what, 7? At least that’s what I recall from the story he told Karla, he went there shortly after the kitten thing. And yet neither does anyone but Karla seem to react to his betrayal nor does he seem affected at all to betray the people who raised him as their own, only focusing on how Karla made him feel because he had never met anyone who was so dependant on him?? Come on.

– I was not a fan of the writing. There were several grammar issues, especially concerning wrong verb tenses (The last ten minutes of my life was wasted; As of late I didn’t had the time), misspellings such as then instead of than, too instead of to, gentlemen instead of gentleman, you’re instead of your, weapon’s instead of weapons…; singular instead of plural and vice versa (Karla. Paul. If you cannot restrain yourself enough (…)); and an absolute absence of punctuation at times, particularly lack of commas when addressing someone “In only a short time Karla we will reunite you with your family.”, periods instead of question marks (I stopped taking notes after a while), etc. So the writing felt too colloquial, as if it wasn’t a priority at all, and I didn’t appreciate it. The book should be properly edited.

– Even though there was plenty of action, at times I felt the book dragged on, both because of the repetitiveness mentioned above and the descriptions of her thoughts (all the questions and the crying…) – all that made me not relate much to the character, even though I am sure the effect intended was the exact opposite. On the other hand, in other occasions too much information was given at a time.

– Again I find the book synopsis was a bit too revealing for my taste.

Conclusion:

I wish there had been more work put into the development of characters and that the writing had been more polished, but overall Possession of my Heart is an entertaining read and I do recommend it to fantasy lovers out there.

Read from January 01 to 02, 2015
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

