Reckoning (The Breach #1)

Reckoning (The Breach #1)
by Katheryn J. Avila

Rating: 3.75/5

Positives:

– It’s a surprisingly fast paced novel, considering there is constantly plenty of information on what the reader needs to know. How the author managed to do that without long, thorough descriptions is beyond me. The fact is it didn’t take many words to make me visualize the surroundings where the actions took place.

– On that note, I loved the narrative style. There were a few surprises in it that piqued my interest instead of annoying me. Little things like the memories invading current action. You’d think stuff like that would break the rythmn but it didn’t, it added to it. They were always brief enough so that didn’t happened, but always packed of useful and interesting information about the characters backgrounds. We are fed the pieces of the puzzle one step at a time, never in a boring way and always wanting more.

– The ending was unexpected and had a lot of feeling. It made the book, despite being the first in a series, stand on its own.
However, the sadness I felt from it makes me want to know what comes next.

Negatives:

– I had a couple of glimpses of Twilight that I could have done without. The whole car ride ordeals, filled with that raw sensual but dangerous, electrifying tension, where Garrett struggled to keep her energy away so he wouldn’t hurt Lexia; the fact that he was so much older than her… That always freaks me out. I find it kind of creepy that they end up getting romantically involved when he watched her grow up from a baby and protected her the whole time.

– Couple of inconsistensies. When Garrett was injured and had to syphon Lexia’s energy, he seemed extremely surprised at how quickly she recovered and only then seemed to figure out what she was (part reaper). However, later in the book it is said he protected her from day 1 and had to tell her aunts what she was, so he had to know the whole time, right?
I also was unable to fit Lexia’s visit to her mother in Heaven in the remainding timeline.
Some repetitiveness caused by the two narration voices (Lexia and Saxon).

– I saw the plot twist somewhat near the end coming a mile away. First, Lexia is told she is half human/half reaper. Then we’re told Sarah, a powerful human psychic, had a relationship with a reaper (Victor), which had never happened and was completely forbidden. That, together with the fact that Sarah accompanied Lexie growing up, doesn’t make it too hard to figure out she was her real mother.

– Although the characters are very interesting and enganging, I could not feel connected to them. I think the book is aimed mostly at teens and I have no doubt that it will be a success amongst them. They will relate to a lot, especially the anger/angst the main character felt throughout the whole book, the fact that she was lied to by those who were supposed to care for her, the constant struggle with her feelings, how she seems to be everything a young woman would want to be – brave while feeling so lost, never complete and never fitting in.

Conclusion:

Reckoning is a face paced, vivid fantasy book which kept me on my toes most of the time. As I mentioned, I truly believe teens will absolutely devour this. It has the potential to be a huge success and I for one am very interested in reading the sequels!

Read from October 18 to 19, 2014
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

