Shadow Out of the Sky (Transitional Delusions #1)

Shadow Out of the Sky (Transitional Delusions #1)
by Brick Marlin

Rating: 3.75/5

Shadow Out of the Sky is a skin crawling horror tale reminiscent of Stephen King’s work, old sci-fi novels/movies mixed in with a scary twist on the piper of Hamelin tale. There is nothing quite as scary as a child gone evil.

The horror is all there, for sure. In that aspect, it’s got to be one of the scariest things I have read in my life, so full on 5 stars. However, plotwise not so much. There is a lot that needs to be worked on. The book needs a lot of editing. Not just to correct all the misspellings but to rephrase certain sentences, to make them clearer and/or more appealing and have the narrative flow better, since I felt confused and disconnected from it several times.

Very few examples compared to what I came across:
In chapter 5 the whole first paragraph refers to Rachael as a ‘he’.
It is said that Scooter will drive Shroeder to his place in his own truck and that Patty will come and pick him up. However, much later it is said Patty has been waiting for Scooter at the bar.
These are only two things which I can recall after finishing the book, regarding misspellings and plot issues. But there were many more, which made me have to reread certain sections and lose pace.

I would also have preferred to have The Reckoning be mentioned only after Kabul’s story, to have the reader connect the dots on what is going on. I still don’t buy Kabul becoming that evil but I am hoping book 2 of the series will shed more light into that.
I also remember seeing, in the history lesson chapter, Woodbin being referred to as Woodbury, when supposedly that only happened much later.

Again, not a fan of the synopsis. No idea where the scarecrow part came from. I only remember reading about something that resembled a scarecrow and it wasn’t depicted as the synopsis portrays it.

Even through the bumps in the road, the fact is it was a very scary read, so I am rounding the 3.5 stars up.
I honestly think that with proper editing and some sections rewritten, this book has the potential for the full 5 stars.
I do recommend it to all horror fans and am very curious about what will come next.

Brick Marlin is one author to watch.

Read from February 14 to 17, 2015
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

