Storberry

Storberry
by Dan Padavona

Rating: 3.25/5

So, here’s my absolutely honest review:

Positives:

– I enjoyed the description of Storberry and its members. How no one was perfect, how everyone had secrets they tried to hide. Your typical town, really, though no one cares to admit it.

– I liked the idea of a haunted forest as well as of something evil living close to you all your life.

– The prospect of romance but never its concretization was something that appealed to me very much and really set the difference from other books of this or other genres.

– The actions were believable, particularly that contradiction people felt when someone they had the utmost respect for was telling them a tale that could not possibly be true. What do you do? Write them off as insane? Believe them?

Negatives:

– I found the book too descriptive at times. Some words and even full descriptions were repetitive which made me labor through the book – I can tell the author is very fond of certain words like redolent and pawl and others I cannot recall at the moment; the descriptions of the greenery and the feeling people got when a vampire was nearby were too repetitive as well, in my opinion.

– I found some inconsistencies, particularly in the way the vampires were described. They were described as being extremely quick and had reflexes that far surpassed their human counterparts, but somehow were never able to catch up to them. They also seemed to be described almost as dumb in words – not even saying full sentences, only repeating what the humans said (which contributed to the chill factor undoubtly), but later on they were able to form full sentences and invite the humans to their world – and especially in actions – they seemed unable to turn a door knob, preferring to pound through it till they were through, but somehow they were smart enough to operate a rifle or whatever the weapon Doug Masterson had and to drive/get a truck to block a road.
Bottom line is I couldn’t decide how smart they were.

– There are some aspects I would have liked to see more developed. Like what caused the wind storm in the first place, I think there should have been a trigger for it. I would have liked to know more about what the characters did during the day, since they seemed to sleep so few hours then. The nights’ description stretched on for much longer (understandably so), but the days were just vague. And I would also like to see an explanation to why sometimes, when someone used a cross (Benny and Mary, that I recall), it went from glowing with intensity to the glow being dulled. In other books, namely Salem’s Lot, I believe the explanation was that the cross lost power progressively as its holder lost faith in it. Here I didn’t see an explanation at all. One minute it worked, the next it didn’t. And I would like to know who bit the Nelson kid. Was it the vampire master? If so, why did he wake up then, leave the crawlspace and go bite him? Did he do that other times? Or were other vampires living in the forest and they bit the kid?

– There was just not enough horror for my taste. There was the prospect of horror, but seldom did I see it fulfilled, and the repetitions didn’t help with that, so I didn’t much get that bone chilling feeling I so enjoy in a horror book. There was violence and some gore but that feeling of closure you get after a really good build up was just lacking for me.

Conclusion

Let’s face it, it’s hard to write a vampire book. It’s all been said and done. Storberry is still a good vampire book, one you want to get into progressively, get to know the characters and their surroundings. And then as the action progresses put yourself in their shoes as they are faced with difficult and terrifying situations.

I enjoyed getting to know the characters, their flaws and qualities, their humanity. I would say the book is more directed at an American audience but it was still enjoyable for me and I was definitely glad that the vampires weren’t sparkly. Make no mistake, these are evil creatures. But I do believe there was potential for more story in it. I would have liked to see the things I mentioned above and others better explained/developed, as well as the vampires themselves (what they feel, think, their powers, knowledge of the darkness they are in, the vampire lord himself, how he came to be and exactly what agenda he had etc). Maybe I just couldn’t get to it enough but these vampires just felt short for me, as if the only thing they were about was ripping flesh and sucking blood. I would like to have seen another dimension to them, one that would really set the book apart in this genre. But I am definitely interested in reading more by the author.

Read from September 28 to October 11, 2014
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

