Time Travelling Dinos: The Pilot

Time Travelling Dinos: The Pilot
by Chris Sykes

Rating: 2.75/5

Even though I have only read one other book by him, I have come to believe Chris Sykes’ style is very unique. Time Travelling Dinos: The Pilot confirmed that for me – it has his lovely sense of humour and whimsical writing all over, but I just could not enjoy it as much as The Most Ferocious of Creatures.

Tim and Larry are dinosaurs and are fairly enjoyable characters since they each have their own personality, though a bit one dimensioned. The book is a constant attemp by Tim to save his best friend Larry. In order to do that, he has to travel through time, or so he makes it his mission. Along the way we meet other characters such as a taker of souls called Soul Taker (err…) and a mechanic called Jerry.

What made me not enjoy the story much was mostly the lack of cohesion, the fact that it jumped around a lot and I could not understand much of what was happening. It’s part of Sykes’ style, but when going for a plot that is so much more elaborate than the previously mentioned book, I think it required a bit more work when explaining things or at least smoother transitions. As it stands, I felt disconnected from the story. I also thought that it was too long, slow paced most of the time. I am not sure if kids would enjoy it and am actually a bit in doubt as to which age group would enjoy this more.

If you don’t mind the crazy storyline and just want to enjoy yourself, it can be a funny read, so I still recommend it.

Read from December 26 to 31, 2014
GR Review

I would like to thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Chat with me!

