Crystallum: (Save the Queen, #1)

Crystallum: (Save the Queen, #1)
by Michael Alexander

Rating: 3.75/5

This part one of the Save the Queen series is very promising indeed. I have to admit I had a little of trouble comprehending the world here built because of how the information was delivered – as if the reader already new the story – but by rereading it I think I have a good grip on it now. However, I did have to reread it, so it took me a lot longer to finish it.

The other thing that put me off a bit is that there are basically 2 prologues, that is, two actions in a different time and place than the main narrative, of which we will only receive explanations much later. None of them are in this first book. I wonder if I would remember them at all, were I to read the other books in the series.

There are some things I would have liked to have explain, like why it was such an offence to Cerio that Zanthus would wear the colour reserved for his army or why Qor missed his chance to be trained as a mage, and I am sure all that will be explained later on and it definitely served to pique my interest, but I do like to feel some closure when I finish a book, no matter how small.

I recommend this book to fans of hard fantasy. I suspect the sequels will be worth reading as well.

Disclaimer: I thank the author for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from February 25 to 26, 2015
GR Review

Chat with me!

