Pre-ordering books

Up until very recently, I had not even considered pre-ordering a book.
But my opinion changed, and in the past couple of months I pre-ordered a few from Book Depository, namely:

So why did I change my mind?

1. Pre-ordered books are generally cheaper.

2. The fact that they won’t be out for at least a couple of months and that the (free) delivery itself takes a while makes it feel a little like christmas when you finally get the book.

3. Quite often the cover isn’t even disclosed, so that’s a surprise as well!

And before that, I preordered A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition by Lewis Carroll and Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman. I was very happy with all three.

Do you pre-order books as well?
Why?
How often?
Have you had any nasty experiences?

Please leave your comment in the box below!

3 thoughts on “Pre-ordering books

    • Maybe I have been lucky with my purchases since they are all cheaper than the versions which are already out, but it does make sense. The book isn’t ready for shipping but it’s purchased already, so it’s a win-win situation for all :)

      I do recommend using bookdepository, I have not had a single bad experience with them. Once there was a book which did not arrive within the timeframe they guarantee, and they sent me another for free. And living in Portugal, shipping fees can be insane, so yep, I absolutely love that site. Great service and great customer support.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

