April 2015 Wrap Up

I have seen quite a few monthly wrap up posts for the past couple of months (ever since I created Ana’s Lair) and have been toying with the idea of doing one.
This will be my first try. I hope this format is visually attractive and has enough information. The covers link to the GR book page and the text links will forward you to that book’s review.
If you have any suggestions, please post below!

So… April.

I started the month reading Fortunately, the Milk, by Neil Gaiman.

I had ordered this paperback a while back and it was just what I needed to recuperate from a dreadful reading slump.

It was a nice, light read, full of imagination, and I rated it 4/5 stars.

 

 

The First (The Returned 0.5) by Jason Mott was my second audiobook experience and it was a pleasant one, although since I had only listened to one other short story I did not have much of a basis for comparison regarding narrators. I think I struggled with the whole doing different voices thing the most, as well as the pace and figuring out when the narrative jumped to another timeframe or character.

Since then, I have listened to one and a half other short stories, also prequels to The Returned, and now believe this book’s narrator (Victor Bevine) was pretty good. The story was nice as well.

I rated The First 3.5/5 stars.

 

I then moved on to Lake Of Sins: Secrets In Blood (Lake of Sins, #2), by L.S. O’Dea.

It is the sequel to Lake Of Sins: Escape (Lake of Sins #1).

I did not enjoy it quite as much as the first book, although I can tell why a lot other folks would, especially younger ones.

It was still a great reading experience and I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

The fourth book I read in April was Edge of End.

It had some highlights, particularly the dream-like quality of the narrative and the setting it took place.

I thought the idea behind it was pretty good, but I was not a fan of the execution.

The story was too riddled with clichés, certain subjects were not addressed enough in my opinion, and the ending felt rushed to me, so I ended up rating it 2/5 stars.

 

 

My third audiobook, The Sparrow (The Returned 0.6) by Jason Mott, was quite enjoyable.

I prefered this story to The First‘s. Though not fast paced, I felt completely enthralled by the narrative because it was all very real.

I rated it 4/5 stars.

 

 

I then read a 100 page preview excerpt of Where: A Novel, by Kit Reed.

It had some editing errors which needed to be addressed and the writing style was completely different from anything I had read before. I could not tell in such a small preview if I would get used to it and actually feel taken away by the story.

It showed lots of potential but, since I could not really tell if I would enjoy the book, I ended up rating it halfway at 2.5/5 stars.

 

 

Next, The Bone Wall, by D. Wallace Peach.

This book had the potential to be a great fantasy epic. It had some really good things but I kept getting this uneasy feeling throughout the narrative of wanting certain things to be explained. When the explanations finally came, they did not give me enough closure, so I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

It was still a terrific experience and we did a buddy read of this book on Book Lair, so it was even more fun.

 

 

Line of Descent by James Derry was quite a treat.

There were certain things which I had loved to see tweaked but overall it was a lot of fun.

It had some unique concepts and the story had depth.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.

 

 

Last but not least, The Doll Maker by Richard Montanari.

By this point I felt that I needed to take a breather from my usual genres and boy am I glad I chose this one.

It was a thrilling crime novel which I thoroughly enjoyed and I could not think of a better way to end the month.

I rated it 4.25/5

 

 

Where I got the books:

 

Book Depository:

  • Fortunately, the Milk (paperback)

 

Audible:

  • The First (The Returned 0.5)
  • The Sparrow (The Returned 0.6)

 

Author:

  • Lake Of Sins: Secrets In Blood (Lake of Sins, #2)
  • Edge of End
  • The Bone Wall
  • Line of Descent

 

Netgalley:

  • Where: A Novel (excerpt)
  • The Doll Maker

 

Favourite covers:

Book of the month:

The Doll Maker

 

Conclusion

So all in all I would say this was a pretty great month, although some if not most of my reads were quite short.

I still managed to get plenty of variety in both genres and formats. I usually only read from my Kindle Paperwhite these days, so reading a paperback and listening to audiobooks on my phone was a great change.

How was your month?
And what do you think of this format?
Do you think I should keep doing monthly wrap ups?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “April 2015 Wrap Up

      • I don’t always have time to read all the reviews, sometimes I just read over the summary. The wrap- up gives me a good overview, and wrap- ups I usually read completely. :) It does get rather long though, so I don’t think you need to add more.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not more than a sentence and a link, we can always go back and read the review. Being reminded is enough for that. to add genre is always a good idea, but you already did much of that with your explanations about why you rate as you do. That’s what makes it really interesting to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alright, thank you so much for your feebdack, I really appreciate it and will definitely keep it in mind. It’s great to know someone finds what I write interesting, but I appreciate any kind of feedback, good and bad, so thanks again for taking the time to write!

        Mentioning genre should not take up much space so I will probably do it… We’ll see.

        Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

Chat with me!

