Delirium (Debt Collector #1)

Title: Delirium (Debt Collector #1)

Author: Susan Kaye Quinn

Genres: Dystopia | Fantasy | Paranormal | Science Fiction| Thriller

Length: 48 pages | 630 locations

Source: Netgalley/Amazon promotion

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.25/5

Premise:

Lirium is a debt collector: he takes life force from folks who the powers that be consider will not be able to pay their debt in their lifetime and gives it to people who are deemed more worthy of it.
In this first episode of the Debt Collector series, we get a peek at what a Debt Collector’s life is like and start to get to know Lirium.

Review:

I was excited to meet a world where your life force actually counts as currency, and these debt collectors, who are basically leeches. Except they don’t just take, they have to give the life back, and if the taking process is exhilarating, the giving one is quite the opposite.

Most of the concepts were pretty well explained, and there’s plenty of tension. Some things related to the collecting procedure may induce addiction and it was very thrilling to read what the characters were feeling/observing.

It’s a short story, there cannot be much character development, but I did have trouble connecting with Lirium. Not so much because he is not very likeable in the first place, but mostly because I felt he rambled a bit too much. However, I did sort of understand why he came to become that person, or at least glimpsed it a bit, and the ending was somewhat helpful, at least I found it open enough to contemplate the possibility.

The cover was pretty neat. Again, I feel the synopsis gave away too much. When I am reading a dystopian tale, I prefer to discover most of what the world is about, as well as the character development, through reading the book, not the blurb.

Overall I felt the story is above average. I enjoyed the ideas, just wish they had been developed more.
I think I would like to keep reading the series, this sort of teaser piqued my interest.

This book is currently free on Amazon. Get it by clicking here.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book.

Read from May 21 to May 22, 2015
GR Review

8 thoughts on “Delirium (Debt Collector #1)

  1. Pingback: May 2015 Wrap Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

