May 2015 Wrap Up

I started out May by once again alternating between a Kindle book and an audiobook, something I had given a try during April and enjoyed. It helps that I won a couple of Audiobookreviewer giveaways.
I enjoy listening to Audiobooks while in bed, too tired to focus on written words, at the beach, and the rare times I work out. I never thought I would be this fond of it, and was afraid I would get the stories mixed up, as I usually only read one book at a time. Now I think that should not happen, especially if I stick to different genres.

However, as time passed, I found myself having less and less time available and had to pick one. So I went with Kindle formats, but did manage to slip in one more audiobook novella before the end of the month.

I did watch a couple of movies at the cinema towards the end of the month (it had sure been a while!), but the reviews will be posted in early June, so they will be included in the June Wrap-Up post.

I remembered a video of my youth by Skunk Anansie and made a post about it.

I also posted about a couple of awards other bloggers were kind enough to nominate me for, one about missing sleep and blog updates.

You can find links to each of those posts below.

 


May Books:

 

On the first of May I finished reading The Choice (The Returned 0.7), by Jason Mott, narrated by David Ledoux.

Unfortunately I did not enjoy this final prequel to The Returned. It felt pretty hollow.

The narrator was also a downside for me.

I rated it 1/5 stars.

 

 

I wanted to read Our Dried Voices by Greg Hickey because I saw it had very mixed reviews and I was curious about that. Also, it was a pretty short book and I figured I would be done with it quickly.

Unfortunately I was amongst those who did not enjoy it much, and all the info dumping and plot holes caused me to take much longer to finish it than I had antecipated.

The idea was great but the execution left me very unsatisfied.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 

I listened to Engel: A Novelette of Terror by Grant Palmquist and it was an enjoyable horror novelette, for the most part.

It started off very well, but then everything felt rushed, from plot to character development.

David Winograd’s narration was pleasant for the most part, but there were some things I did not enjoy much.

I gave it 2.75/5 stars.

 

Then I finally finished Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction.

It was a pretty hardcore sci-fi short story collection, which put me off a bit, because I had to focus hard and even then I did not grasp all concepts, and hence it took me longer to finish the book.

However, the stories were beautifully written – brilliant at times – and even when I did not understand everything, most times I felt completely enthralled.

I rated it 4/5 stars.

 

The Winter Boy by Sally Wiener Grotta, was by far my favourite book of the month.

It weaved a fantasy tale like no other I have ever read. It is an extremely intimate book, with superb character and world development. The concepts are very original, at least to me, and I highly recommend it.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

 

Then came Rememberers, by C. Edward Baldwin.

The premise was very exciting: a girl has deja-vus and does not know what they mean or how to handle them, so she seeks help, managing to get herself involved in a major paranormal plot.

However, I felt that the development of such a great premise did not do it justice at all, and rated the book 1.25/5 stars.

 

 

Delirium (Debt Collector #1), by Susan Kaye Quinn is a novella which marks the beginning of a series.

It introduces us to an interesting world and very imaginative concepts, and I enjoyed it but wished it had all been further developed. Perhaps if it were an actual novel. But it did pique my interest and I would like to read more.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 

 

I then read a book composed by two short stories, Standing Kill Orderlies: Bonus Short: Infidelity, by Anthony Vicino.

They were two very different stories and I especially enjoyed the first one. It was a unique experience for me, as I had never read a story which started in the most recent time and went backwards, never coming around to present day.

I did not enjoy the second one as much, and it caused me to lower the rating.

I rated this book 3/5 stars.

 

 

I had been wanting to start a series for a while, so I moved on to Chimera Book One (Chimera #1).

This world was pure magic. There were a few bits and pieces that caused me to lower the rating but overall it was a very entertaining experience and I recommend it to little ones and grown-ups alike.

I rated this book 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

I listened to Libertines: A Horror Story by Grant Palmquist and narrated by David Winograd while I was sunbathing at the beach.

I was much more drawn to the psychological development of the characters than all the gore, sex and violence.

I rated it 2.5/5 stars.

 

 

While listening to Libertines, I also continued the Chimera trilogy with Chimera Book Two (Chimera #2) by Phil Gomm.

I was not as fond of this second book as the first one, and I sort of wished some things had been handled differently, but I still enjoyed it.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

 

My last book of the month was the last book written of the Chimera series.

Chimera Book Three (Chimera #3) by Phil Gomm answered a lot of questions and issues raised on the first two books, but it was by no means a conclusion to the series.

I had fun reading it and recommend all the books to all children fantasy lovers. Even if you don’t want to keep reading the books whenever the writer gets to them, this one still brings a lot of closure and it’s a pleasure to get to know the world of Chimera.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 


 

Where I got the books:

Author:

  • Rememberers

 

Giveaway:

  • Engel: A Novelette of Terror
  • Libertines: A Horror Story

 

Netgalley:

  • Our Dried Voices
  • Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction
  • The Winter Boy
  • Rememberers
  • Delirium (Debt Collector #1)
  • Chimera Book One (Chimera #1)
  • Chimera Book Two (Chimera #2)
  • Chimera Book Three (Chimera #3)

 

Promotions:

  • The Choice (The Returned 0.7) (Audible)
  • Standing Kill Orderlies: Bonus Short: Infidelity (Amazon)

 

Favourite Cover:

 

Book of the Month:

The Winter Boy

 
Other Posts in May:

 

Conclusion

So in May I read some interesting standalones and the first three books in a series of children fantasy. I would say it was a lovely month, especially considering I did not have much time to read, since I got a new part-time job for this month of May, which I may get called for during other random months in the future.

Many of the books were short, but on the other hand I read the longest one in a while – 508 pages -, and it happened to be the one I enjoyed the most.

There wasn’t a lot of variety regarding genres or even where I got the books but, overall, May truly was a great month.

Lovely weather and lovely books – I even managed to go to the movies and actually enjoyed it -, so what more could one hope for?

 

How was May for you?

13 thoughts on “May 2015 Wrap Up

      • True, I for one am a very slow reader and keep having to go back and reread stuff because I get distracted often. Odd, this didn’t use to happen when I read physical books…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I read at a snail’s pace, lol, it’s sad. But yeah, it’s worse reading a screen, I much prefer having a physical copy of a book. Maybe you should switch back to physical books? Otherwise I can see how facebook, twitter and other notifications would be very distracting while reading. :)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I live in Portugal, so e-book formats are the only way I’ll ever get ARCs, which is mostly what I read on my Kindle, both from Netgalley and authors. So really not an option for me :)

        I do have some paperbacks waiting to be read and I included them in my 20 Books of Summer challenge. I still enjoy reading paperbacks, especially at the beach.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, that’s great that you can get a lot of ARCs to read that way.
        I love reading paperbacks outdoors, especially at a scenic place like the beach, or a garden in full bloom.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: June 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

