20 Books of Summer

Click the picture to access the original post of the challenge

I have finally come up with my list for the 20 Books of Summer challenge.
I will not necessarily be reading the books in this order and some will possibly be subjected to change, but for now these are my choices:

1. Aftermath, by Tom Lewis (Read, review here.)

2. A Special Place, by Peter Straub (Read, review here.)

3. Halfskin, by Tony Bertauski

4. Clay, by Tony Bertauski

5. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition, by Lewis Carroll

6. Disclaimer, by Renée Knight

7. The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #1), by Charlie N. Holmberg

8. The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #2), by Charlie N. Holmberg

9. The Well, by Catherine Chanter

10. Devil’s Daughter (Lucinda’s Pawnshop, #1), by Hope Schenk-de Michele, Paul Marquez, Maya Kaathryn Bohnhoff

11. A Thorn Among the Lilies, by Michael Hiebert

12. Erewhon (Erewhon #1), by Samuel Butler

13. Kyrathaba Rising (The Kyrathaba Chronicles #1), by William Bryan Miller

14. Every Last Word, by Tamara Ireland Stone

15. The Corridor (The Corridor Series #1), by A.N. Willis

16. Consumption, by Heather Herrman

17. Probably Monsters, by Ray Cluley

18. Hothouse, by Brian W. Aldiss

19. Krabat, by Otfried Preußler

20. Untrustworthy, by J.R. Gershen-Siegel
 


 
Where I got the books:

Bought Paperbacks:

  • A Special Place
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition
  • Erewhon (Erewhon #1)

Netgalley E-books:

  • Disclaimer
  • The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #1)
  • The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #2)
  • The Well
  • Devil’s Daughter (Lucinda’s Pawnshop, #1)
  • A Thorn Among the Lilies
  • Every Last Word
  • The Corridor (The Corridor Series #1)
  • Consumption
  • Probably Monsters
  • Hothouse
  • Krabat
  • Untrustworthy

Free from Author E-books:

  • Aftermath
  • Halfskin

Giveaways:

  • Clay (Audiobook)
  • Kyrathaba Rising (The Kyrathaba Chronicles #1) (Audiobook)

 


 
Are you planning on taking up this challenge?
Do you intend to read any of the books I listed above?
If so, would you be up to do a buddy read?

Tell me everything!

11 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer

    • Hi! I’ll check it out asap!

      I skimmed through the preface and I can tell it is not going to be an easy read for me. I had no idea it was written in the late 1800s. I tend to have a bit of an issue with semi-archaic english, or writing in general. I always seem to find myself creasing my eyebrows as I am reading it xD Such an effort!

      Sucks having English as second language sometimes!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can see where having English as a second language would make it difficult to read older books. Some of them are written in such stilted language and even when it reads smoothly, some of the word usage changes over time. Heck, there’s even a difference today in the English spoken in England versus the English spoken in the United States. A big joke between Americans and English as that we’re countries divided by a common language.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I guess that is what I was trying to say, it is nothing something smooth, it feels heavy and like a chore. I can imagine how reading that kind of stuff would make someone smarter, but is it enjoyable?

        Eheh cute joke :)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Glad to see someone else is behind on their NetGalley reading. I don’t feel quite as bad now. I need to catch-up this summer. But then all these other great books will come along and distract me! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: June 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

