Random Chat: Good Blurb

What makes a good blurb?

Step up, take a seat, make yourself at home and let’s chat!

Welcome to our first random chat!
The theme is:

WHAT MAKES A GOOD BLURB?

Blurbs, or synopses, or even premises, as I call them in my blog, come in all shapes and sizes.
Are all considered appealing ones?
In my opinion, a good blurb needs to have the following characteristics:

1) Relatively short.
I have no patience to read huge texts. I want to read, say, a paragraph, and immediately know what the book is about.

2) Does not give away anything even remotely spoilery.
A good blurb will only hint at the main points of the story, but not give away the plot. If I know something important is going to happen beforehand, that means I will not be able to fully appreciate it when I finally read it in the book.

3) Need to know information only.
I don’t want piles and piles of details about which awards it has won or what people are saying about it. Awards do not dictate whether I will pick a book up and if I want to know what people think I will read reviews.


In your opinion, what makes a good blurb?
Do you have any pet peeves regarding them?

Tell me everything!

17 thoughts on “Random Chat: Good Blurb

  1. I completely agree with this! KEEP THE BLURBS SHORT AND SWEET I say! They should be short but have enough to grab our attention, hint at what the book is basically about and most importantly should not give spoilers. Why do some blurbs even do that?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right?? I wonder if anyone actually finds that appealing. Some are so explicit that I wonder why even bother to read the book.
      Something short written in an intriguing way is the most effective, in my opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! For instance, the book I am reading. The blurb mentions the big plot twist at around one third of the book. If I had actually read it, the reading experience would have been totally ruined for me.

      Like

  2. I agree so much with you, but especially on 3rd. “Haunting read, says XYZ, Author of something)”. That doesn’t tell me anything. Just tell me what the book’s about in a short way and let me make up my own mind if I want to read it or not.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Now that you mention it… you’re right! When I was younger there was the blurb and that’s it. No praise of other authors and no ‘this book’s the next whatever’s popular right now’. Although that might be an english thing? I don’t think the german books I own are promoted like that. But I gotta say I own the english versions of the popular fantasy series, so who knows.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm to be frank I think it’s probably a product of today’s society, not the language per se… But I can’t be sure, haven’t bought a book in a language other than English in a few years.

        I just think that there are so many books out there and it is so easy for someone to self-publish these days so there is even more competition, that people probably think that sort of thing makes the book stand out.

        Times change… Not always for the best!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. My pet peeves with blurbs is comparisons to others authors ‘the next Stephen King’, or ‘if you love DuMaurier you’ll love….’, etc, etc. I just think it makes me overly critical going into a book expecting it to be like something else.
    Lynn :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, I see, makes sense! I suppose they want people to think hey if you like that author, you’re going to love this, but it does set high expectations. Also, it doesn’t always turn out to be as similar as they make it out to be… And it’s easy to get disappointed, especially if you love the author they’re being compared to!

      Like

  4. Well, I totally agree with what has been said here, but I would like to point out something else: no faults please!

    A blurb is short, it’s the first contact a reader has with your book, if you can’t even pay enough attention to proof-read it and have it correctly written, that is really not encouraging for the rest of your book, and I will not read it, no matter how interesting the subject sounds.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Bad luck! I probably missed a few because at this point I have pretty much given up on reading blurbs. I cringe at the thought of reading something majorly important to the plot, severing any interest I may have in the book. So, shallow as may be, I tend to look at the title, cover, key words, genre and that’s it.

        Like

  5. Pingback: June 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  6. Yes! Completely agree! This comes under the “spoilers” category, but I hate it when a blurb tells me a major plot point that doesn’t happen till halfway through the book. When that happens I often spend the first 100 pages or so being confused and waiting for it to happen- which completely spoils my enjoyment of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Chat with me!

