June 2015 Wrap-Up

June was a revolutionary month for me, I tried so many new things in the blog!

First of all, at the beginning of the last week of May, I noticed I was posting once a day since the 21st, and so I sort of decided to challenge myself to keep it up for a week. I am happy to say I made it well past that! I managed to post every day not only until the end of May but also June!

Regarding reading, in June, I continued to try to step out of the box and read stuff I normally would not pick up.

I entered two reading challenges (my first), watched a couple of movies and posted the reviews, browsed the internet and found a couple of interesting articles that I also shared with you guys, which led me to create a new feature in the blog called Random Chats.

I also got into social media more actively. I had created a twitter account in May, so in June I made a facebook page. Both will display my newest blog posts.

I have also shared a few pictures on the facebook page, mostly book related.

I included links to Ana’s Lair’s facebook, Twitter, GoodReads and Amazon profile/pages at About > Social Media.

I also decided to include the Summary you can see below in my Monthly Wrap-up posts.

And it was my birthday!

As you can see, I had quite a full month and I had a blast.
I acknowledge that I made an extra effort to read and post more because I know I won’t be able to be nearly as active in July, due to picking up a night-time job. I am sad to know I won’t be able to read nearly as much, let alone post in the blog. So I challenged myself and am happy to say I had fun while doing it, as opposed to feeling obligated.

This was a great month!


Summary:

Total Books Read:14 (I am not counting the portuguese one as I only read half a dozen pages in June and it’s been with me since last year)

Longest Read: The World Before Us (432 pages)

Shortest Read: When a Child Is Born: A Chronicles of St. Mary’s Short Story (32 min)

Book of the Month: Disclaimer

Favourite Covers:


June Books:

 

On the first of June I finished Aftermath, by Tom Lewis.

The book had really good world creation, concepts and a fast pace.

However, it is a perfect example of too much action, as it does not give the reader nearly enough information about what is happening. I also could not relate to any of the characters – even found the main one pretty annoying – and felt the writing was dreadful.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 

 

A Special Place: The Heart of a Dark Matter by Peter Straub, is a novella which introduces one of the main characters in A Dark Matter, sociopath Keith Hayward. We meet him at the young age of 12, and follow his descent into evil.

Small as it is, the book delivers quite a punch. It is not one for the weak hearted. It is so very gruesome, even though there isn’t actually much gore shown.

I rated it 4.25/5 stars.

 

I then read Halfskin (Halfskin #1) by Tony Bertauski.

I thoroughly enjoyed this sci-fi book.

Great plot, characters, world… There wasn’t much wrong with it – a bit slow-paced and repetitive here and there, some faulty transitions, but nothing major – and I highly recommend it.

I gave it 4.5/5 stars.

 

I finally finished reading Ensina-nos a rezar (Guia catecismo, #2º ano).

It is a portuguese book, so the review is in portuguese.

It is a manual for catechists and it is pretty good. I wished they proposed more activities for the kids, to keep them engaged.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

Clay (Halfskin #2) by Tony Bertauski is the sequel to Halfskin.

Although I did not enjoy it as much as the first book, in large part because I listened to it rather than read it, it was still very enjoyable.

Wonderful world building, plenty of plot twists, and just a great ride in general.

I highly recommend both books and cannot wait for the third one.

I rated Clay 4/5 stars.

 

 

Then came Disclaimer, by Renée Knight.

It was a mind-blowing psychological thriller, with multi-dimensional characters and a plot which will always keep you on edge, with insane plot twists. I cannot recommend it enough.

I rated it 4.9/5 stars.

 

 

I then started a book I had been meaning to read for a while, The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #1), by Charlie N. Holmberg.

I was not very happy with how the story developed. I think if the world development had been better I would have enjoyed this read immensely, but sadly it turned out to be quite repetitive and really a thorough study of one of the characters. I wanted more magic and less romance.

I rated it 2.25/5 stars.

 

 

I continued the series with The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #2), by Charlie N. Holmberg.

I enjoyed it much more than the first book, but most of the issues I did not appreciate in The Paper Magician remained, especially the unlike-able main character.

I rated this book 3/5 stars.

 

 

The next book was my first obtained via Blogging for Books.

The World Before Us had an interesting premise but the prose was much too dense for my taste and not much went on for most of the book.

I rated it 1.75/5 stars.

 

 

I then listened to Daimones (Daimones Trilogy #1) by Massimo Marino and narrated by Jeff Hayes.

This book presents the reader with a very different take on post-apocalyptic fiction. It follows a very average guy who is faced with the annihilation of seemingly the entire human race and makes you think what you would have done in his place. There were a few things I wish had been handled differently, but overall enjoyed it quite a lot and was very curious to know what happens in the next two books of the trilogy.

I rated Daimones 3.75/5 stars.

 

 

I decided to work out a bit and needed a quick listen, so I went with When a Child Is Born: A Chronicles of St. Mary’s Short Story by Jodi Taylor and narrated by Zara Ramm.

Time travelling is a difficult subject to address. Even more difficult in a short story.
It was overall enjoyable, but nothing that will stay with me for long.

I rated it 2.5/5 stars.

 

 

I finished reading Untrustworthy by J.R. Gershen-Siegel.

It was a very refreshing take on dystopia. Unfortunately, it lacked emotion and the constant stutter irritated me beyond words.

Shame, it had such potential! I cannot help but wish the concept would have been approached in a different way.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 

 

I continued with book two of the Daimones series, Once Humans (Daimones Trilogy #2) by Massimo Marino.

Although I did not enjoy it as much as the first book, since I was often confused, it was a thrilling read, with plenty of action, uncovered agendas and character growth, particularly for Dan.

As expected in the second book of a trilogy, many questions are left unanswered, so I would not consider it a standalone.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

I then listened to an audiobook I won in a giveaway, Kyrathaba Rising: Kyrathaba Chronicles, Book 1 by William Bryan Miller and narrated by Christine Padovan.

I was not a fan of the narration, for the most part, and to be frank I wish I had read the book rather than listened to it, because the plot was very rich and I lost a lot of valuable information.

Still, the great sci-fi world and prospect of a very cool fantasy one stayed with me.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

The last book I read this month was The Dreadful Fate of Jonathan York: A Yarn for the Strange at Heart by Kory Merritt.

It’s a fairly dark graphic novel for kids (or maybe young teens) with several meaningful messages and a main character to whom pretty much everyone can relate. I am unsure about the audience age group but it was thrilling, very enjoyable.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.


 

Where I got the books:

Author:

  • Aftermath
  • Halfskin (Halfskin #1)
  • Once Humans (Daimones Trilogy #2)

Blogging for Books

  • The World Before Us

 
Book Depository:

  • A Special Place: The Heart of a Dark Matter

 
Local Church:

  • Ensina-nos a rezar (Guia catecismo, #2º ano)

Giveaway:

  • Clay (Halfskin #2)(Audible)
  • Daimones (Daimones Trilogy #1)(Audible)
  • Kyrathaba Rising: Kyrathaba Chronicles, Book 1(Audible)

Netgalley:

  • Disclaimer
  • The Dreadful Fate of Jonathan York: A Yarn for the Strange at Heart
  • The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #2)
  • The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy #1)
  • The World Before Us
  • Untrustworthy

Promotions:

  • When a Child Is Born: A Chronicles of St. Mary’s Short Story (Audible)

 
Movie Reviews:

 

Reblogs:

 

Other Posts in June:

 


 

How was June for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

9 thoughts on “June 2015 Wrap-Up

    • Ahah yeah happy belated birthday to you as well and thank you!

      Not sure if it’s related at all but Gemini are very communicative so eh, who knows, maybe that’s why so many bloggers had their bday last month ;)

      They were generally small books but yes I am very happy with it! Great hawl eheh

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome!
        Hmm.. That’s a good thought! However, I myself am a Cancer, so I don’t know what that says about me.. 😉
        Its great that you were happy with it!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I don’t really care much about those things or think they define us, just may influence *shrugs*

        June was a great month, most likely one of the best in the year eheh

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you and thank you very much!
      Yep, overall I was pretty lucky with the books I read ^_^
      I hope I will be able to finish both trilogies in July, we’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Bookblogger Tag | Ana's Lair

  2. Pingback: July 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

