Maggie

Maggie

Rating: 2.5/5

Premise:

A new disease is causing people to turn into zombies over the course of mere weeks.
The movie follows a man trying to protect his infected daughter from everyone around her and ultimately herself.

Review:

Maggie is less a movie about zombies than about a father trying to surround his daughter with love during the little time she has left to live. It is an emotional movie, with plenty of close-ups and dramatic scenes and not much dialogue. It was good to see Schwarzenegger performing such a role, as I had never seen him do a character so emotionally intense. Though I have to admit from what I saw it couldn’t have been that hard. The crying seemed extremely forced, for instance… And the girl was nothing special either. When I saw the trailer I thought Kirsten Dunst was playing that part. I am sure she could have done a much better job.

Overall, it’s a good movie, though terribly slow. The process of zombification, or rather the ‘turning’ as they put it, is slow as well, and we basically watch a grieving father trying to hide his pain and give his daughter a sense of normalcy and the best time she could have.
Although all around people are terribly afraid of the infected in the late stages – and rightly so – some don’t even hesitate to send their own kids away, this father never quits on her, not once.

There were, however, a few plot issues that caused me to feel disengaged with the story. Off the top of my mind I can recall two:

People are taken to quarantine after they reach a certain stage in the disease progress and administered a drug, that Vogel’s friend the good doctor tells him hurts like hell and that he would be better off ending his daughter’s life quickly.
However, I never really got to find out what exactly the liquid did to the patients. If there is no cure, wouldn’t the purpose of administering something be to make the death as painless and humane as possible?

Also, we keep getting told the disease is contagious, but I could not understand how, especially since everyone keeps hugging the infected as if it is no big deal. Even with their yucky open sores.

The ending was extremely rushed. I suppose it was the best one could get under the circumstances, although personally I would have preferred Maggie to take her last breath in the field of daisies due to the symbolism, but I was mostly disappointed that there was nothing after that.

The movie is… Different.

2 thoughts on “Maggie

  1. I think part of the intensity of zombie movies is that when someone is infected and going to turn, you have have minutes, if not seconds, to say goodbye and save your own skin. Dragging it on for weeks is not the part I’m interested in!

    Like

  2. Pingback: July 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

