Random Chat: Grammar Nerd Issues

Grammar Nerd Issues

Step up, take a seat, make yourself at home and let’s chat!

Hey, folks!

I was browsing through the internet and came across this article:

Correcting People’s Grammar: Just Don’t Do It

It made me wonder how you can tell whether someone wants to be corrected.

I, for one, always want to be corrected. I love grammar, both portuguese and english, and although I have some pet peeves that I refuse to bend on (for instance, right now proofread is telling me to capitalize the words portuguese and english and I am not gonna :P), generally speaking I do want to know when I write something incorrectly, because I always want to learn and better myself.

It pains me to see that, these days, people in my country (and others, I am sure) don’t really know how to write or even speak properly, as in how to correctly pronunciate the words.
I cringe when I see some most common mistakes and have to exert some serious self-control to keep from correcting them.

On the other hand, I feel bad because I am sure some – if not most – people view this passion of mine as snobbish.

Do you have this issue?
Do you care about grammar at all?
Have you noticed any particular mistakes in my posts?

Tell me everything!

17 thoughts on “Random Chat: Grammar Nerd Issues

  1. I find myself guilty of cutting people mid sentence to correct them. My friends respond back with massive eye rolls and a few happy and encouraging cuss words too, but over time, they do thank me for making them more careful while speaking. By the way, instead of the word “wrongly”, doesnt “incorrectly” sound a bit better? Just saying :P

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know if it’s rude to suddenly correct grammars in other country, but I love whenever people correct me. And even better if it’s about english (since it wasn’t my native language), so that I could improve both my speaking and writing skill.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I share the same desire to be corrected when I make mistakes in grammar because I like to know more. I think people should make the effort to write and speak ‘proper’ unless they are using slang etc for reasons of humour. I would not correct a non-English speaker if they made errors though–I haven’t mastered a second language yet so that would be unkind.

    Liked by 1 person

    • On the contrary, it would be very kind, as you’d be helping her *cough* me *cough* improve her skills!

      Obviously, I cannot speak for everyone. I completely understand that you would not want to correct someone who hasn’t asked to be corrected, particularly if English is their secondary language.

      I, for one, absolutely love to be corrected, so if you see any mistakes in my posts, particularly errors I tend to repeat but not just those, please do let me know!

      You know, the more I think about it, the more I come to the conclusion that, sometimes, it’s not really that you correct someone but how you correct them that may have a negative impact. No one likes a know-it-all person, and few appreciate being corrected when they showed no desire to be.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OK I’ll trawl through your blog to see if I can spot errors…with you Ana I have to admit I wouldn’t have known English was your 2nd language as you write it so well. The problem is we are living in a dumbed down era in the English-speaking world so you could spend a lot of time trying to correct people–the young in particular! Because so many people are casual now I tend to only correct family members. (In my opening sentence I typed your, but it could be you’re–I still get tripped up by that one). Feel free to correct me too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Awesome, thank you for taking that time and for the compliment. I am gushing all over, now!

        I would imagine the main issue with most folks who have English as their secondary language is what I learned in school as ‘false friends’. Those are words which are very similar in both languages but have totally different meanings.

        Also, there are ways to construct a sentence which make sense in a language but not in another, making it sound quite silly. That is a very popular tell as well that the person is not a native English speaker.

        Oh yes, your/you’re and their/they’re/there are still common mistakes. I really think the average person doesn’t care much about grammar, especially young ones.

        One mistake I have been seeing a lot lately, including in blog posts, is it’s instead of its.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry for late reply but my internet was down for hours…the false friends info is interesting. I’m guilty of using their and it’s without knowing if their/y’re right! I would not refer to people as “there” but you probably know that, lol…at least we have Google to rely on :)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I use a trick that is the same for ‘they’re’ and ‘it’s’. Those are abbreviations, so my trick is to un-abbreviate (or is it de-abbreviate? xD) the word and see if it still makes sense.
        As in “they’re there” = “They are there”.
        :)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Since forever, I’ve been a punctuation and grammar nerd. My friends used to say I was the grammar queen. But I silently correct people, with rare occasions of correcting people out loud.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Personally, I love to be corrected and I am always asking for it, be it in written form or oral form. I think it is the only way to learn. There are some common errors I kept doing either in French or English that were corrected only after friends kept on correcting me.

    Actually, as mentionned in a previous comment, I don’t think it’s the correcting or not that is important, but the way you are doing it. Don’t be condescending and it should be fine.

    BTW, since you were mentioning it, I don’t know about Portuguese, but in English, all countries and languages first letters should be capitalized. That is not the case in French (at least not for languages). But I know a couple of people who perfectly know their grammar rules but deliberately decide to not apply them for different ideological reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Countries and names are always capitalized in Portuguese; honestly, I don’t know about languages, but mostly likely should be as well.

      The thing is, in the past couple of years our language underwent a (very silly, in my opinion) change, trying to unify all Portuguese speaking countries or dialects or whatever the correct expression is (not being very specific here, I know, sorry). A lot of things have changed. For instance, we used to capitalize months names and now we’re not supposed to. I don’t understand why make these changes and why try to force people to write the same way, when we are simply different. Even English has less differences from British to American and there is still a distinction. For instance, Brazillian portuguese has some american influences, I guess because it’s somewhat close to the USA. For example, the word in Portugal portuguese for team is equipa, while they say time, which is the portuguese pronunciation for team. Just an example. I really would have liked the powers that be to leave my language alone!! So I suppose I can understand those people you mention :)

      Like

  6. Pingback: July 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

