WordPress Issues

Hey, folks.

I have been having a few issues with WordPress, and I was wondering if someone knew anything about this.

1) The first one is more of a notice to my followers who may have posted and did not get a reply from me.
I have recently noticed that I had comments thrown in the Spam folder, and I never even received a notification for it.
I don’t know why these comments were there, since most were from people who have posted in my blog previously and there was nothing remotely spam-like about them, unless you count a link as spam, which I don’t, especially since I have received comments like that in the past.

I marked them as Not Spam and changed my spam settings from strick to safe – there is no option to disable spam filtering at all, but at least from now on I will get a notification.
I had a bit of a freak out when I noticed that, even though I marked them as not being spam, they just disappeared off the face of the earth instead of posting. It took me quite a bit of poking around to figure out they went to ‘Pending’ status *sigh* I approved all now, so they should up. Unfortunately, I can no longer tell which I replied to and which I didn’t!! >.< So feel free to point it out to me!

I would like stress that I always like any comments posted in my blog, and reply to most of them as well, so if I did neither to yours, then it is one of the above mentioned. I am so sorry, I did not know and definitely did not ignore you!

2) I cannot get the proofreader option to work!! I tried both the ‘old’ WP admin option and the new one. Nothing will happen when I click proofread and then I have to refresh the page to be able to edit the text again.

3) The final issue I have been having a lot over the past few days is that whenever I follow a new blog I get an email saying I signed up for email notifications. I didn’t. I clicked the Follow button at the top, just as I always do, so that new posts from that blog will show up on my WordPress Reader.
No offence, but I don’t want to be spammed with emails everytime someone posts something. That’s a lot of emails. I prefer to take some time and go through the Reader when I can take said time.
Maybe it’s the theme the person chose? Or is it a setting the blog owner can tweak? Either way, I have not followed some blogs back because of this issue. Sorry, nothing personal!

So, does anyone else have these problems, and do you have any idea they are fixable or being worked on?

23 thoughts on “WordPress Issues

  1. On the reader on the left side bar next to “following” there is a little gear looking icon for the settings and there you can see all the people you follow and edit whether you want emails or not when they post. It always does that when I follow someone, so I just have to go edit the setting afterwards. It’s annoying to have to do that, but at least you can edit it and take it off. Sometimes I get comments in my spam too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have had a few comments in my “pending” that I did not get notifications on also. Then when you approve them, the comments go into the full comment list under the date the comment was made, not when you approved, so it’s easy to lose sight of the comment in the overall list.

    I’ve never used proofreading, so not sure there.

    Every once in a while I get the email notification when I follow too. I think that must be something that is set up with that person’s blog you’ve just followed, some setting on their end. I’m pretty sure that I fixed that using the WordPress reader. Next to blogs I follow there is an icon you can click which opens the full list for editing. I think it was inside here that I was able to turn off email notifications individually for those blogs that had it set. Good luck!

    Like

  3. I have experienced #1 and #3. I feel like I am constantly having to change my email notifications and as for the spam comments I actually had an email sent to me saying that your comment on my last post was a spam one! And I was like “Uh,no.” Luckily I was able to find your comment though and respond.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I have to shut off the email notifications manually from my Reader as it happens. Thankfully, it doesn’t seem to happen every single time I follow someone–otherwise it would get annoying really fast.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am definitely glad it doesn’t happen everytime I follow someone! It’s easy enough to tell whose notifications are on though so it’s fixed now, thanks!

        Like

  4. Hi Ana, I too tend to restrict email notifications, preferring to read the available bogs on my reader and usually following up the original page to see how the blogger wanted it to look and to see the complete post. Thanks for following “The Raven”; I hope you enjoy future episodes, and possibly some you may have missed in the Archives.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome, I finally figured out how to disable the notifications eheh :)
      My life is going through some changes in the near future, time consuming ones, so not sure when I check out any new posts… Or post in my own blog, for that matter. I will as soon as I can!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. And now I am having yet another issue – not getting notifications when someone tags one of my posts. I don’t remember disabling any of that :S

    Like

  6. Pingback: July 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

