American History X

American History X

Rating: 5/5

Premise:

Derek is a neo-nazi skinhead who goes to jail for three years. When he comes back, he tries to get his younger brother from making the same mistakes he did.

Review:

It has been years since I last watched this movie. I knew it was one of my favourite movies of all time and I could remember the general story and one scene in particular that stayed with me and still gives me the chills, but I have wanted to watch it again for some time now, to see if I still had the same opinion.

Screenshot of the most intense scene in the movie.

I do. Maybe even better. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this movie, and trust me, I can always find something wrong with anything I am watching.

To this date I cannot choose whether this or Primal Fear was Edward Norton’s most stellar performance, but it is a close match and both movies made me a big fan of the guy.

I am not going to get into the plot because I feel it is one of those works of art that you cannot really do that without giving too much away. You need to watch this through the eyes of Danny, and hopefully you will feel the same as I did.
What I can tell you is that this story is about love, hate, anger, influence, the definition of right and wrong, manipulation, and so, so much more.

The way it was shot was brilliant. All the close-ups, slow motions, the soundtrack, scenes from before Derek went to prison shown in black and white, the beach scenes, everything. There were so many beautiful details that brought a raw realness to the story and exacerbated the emotional impact that I was just a big hot mess watching this.
Obviously, I could not help crying towards the end.

If you have not watched this yet and have the chance, please do so as soon as you can. You won’t regret it.
Careful though, there are some very explicit scenes, both violence and sex.

3 thoughts on “American History X

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

