Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition

Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition

Author: Lewis Carroll

Genres: Children | Fantasy

Length: 256 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 3.75/5

Premise:

This book includes the two classics Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass, where we follow the very imaginative Alice around the most fantastic places and situations.

Review:

I have been meaning to read Alice in Wonderland in the original version for years now, as I had only read the portuguese, illustrated version as a child.
I had never read Through the Looking Glass, so this edition seemed perfect for me.

When I first started reading Alice in Wonderland, I thought the writing style was very peculiar. There was a lot of information in parenthesis, where the author would tell us little things about Alice. And there sure was a lot of rambling, which was ok in a fantasy book. All that paired with a generous dose of nonsensical insanity made this a very enjoyable ride.

There was plenty I did not remember from the previous version and things I remembered differently.
For instance, I did not recall the Gryphin or the Mock Turtle and certainly not the ending bit with Alice’s sister. I also thought Alice had gotten through the little door a lot sooner.

I think Mr Carroll captured the child spirit wonderfully and the fantastic world he created was both extremely entertaining and thought-provoking. I read in the back cover that the story is supposed to be a satire of the Victorian society in which the author was inserted but I believe anyone can take something away from it.

Through the Looking Glass had much of the same magic but for some reason I did not enjoy it as much and felt my mind drifting all the time.
I did not feel as carried away by the story, not only because the nonsense did not make as much sense as in Wonderland (if that makes any sense), but also because all the poems and riddles seemed to put a stop to the flow of the narrative and I just did not find that pleasant and all.

So even though I thoroughly enjoyed Alice in Wonderland, as a joint edition this book is worth 3.75 stars to me.

Read from Aug 10 to Aug 12, 2015

GR Review

One thought on “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

