Elora of Stone (Legend of Rhyme, #1)

Title: Elora of Stone (Legend of Rhyme, #1)

Author: Jaime Lee Mann

Genres: Adventure | Children | Fantasy

Format: Mobi

Length: 206 pages | 2030 locations

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3.25/5

Premise:

In the Kingdom of Falmoor, no set of twins stay intact. During the night, one of them is taken away, although he or she appears dead. Why does this happen? And what does Gwendolyn’s pure heart have to do with it? Or her descendants’?

Review:

I found Elora of Stone a very nice adventure book for young children.

I finished it with more questions than answers and there were a couple of things that did not quite add up, like why Gwendolyn was so upset when she found out about the marriage contract and yet when she meets Lochlan she does not seem to recognize his name, even though she was just reading about it, for instance.
I wanted to know more about the 200-year-old lady, how exactly the twins who were taken turned into fairies, who Lochlan’s twin was, what had happened to Larque’s children, and oh so much more but in the end this was a sweet book for very young kids, who don’t mind stuff not being thoroughly explained.

There’s plenty of action and stuff to keep them interested. There’s a clumsy magician with a great heart, a girl with a pure heart who attracts all sorts of woodland critters, there are fairies and pixies and pretty landscapes and magic, both good and evil. And there are children they can relate to, even if they sounded a bit older than 12 to me.
The few pictures were nice as well and I kind of wish there had been more.

It’s the first book in a series, so I understand that there has to be a cliffhanger, I just wish there hadn’t been so many of them, so I could have appreciated the book more.
I also wish the author had stuck with third voice, instead of constantly switching narrators, most often in first person, present, but not always. I thought it was confusing and unnecessary.

I recommend the book to very young children (7 and up) and that they get the rest of the series as soon as possible, so that they will not be as disappointed by the ending as I was.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Aug 16 to Aug 17, 2015
GR Review

One thought on “Elora of Stone (Legend of Rhyme, #1)

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

