Self/Less

Self/Less

Rating: 3/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A dying real estate mogul transfers his consciousness into a healthy young body, but soon finds that neither the procedure nor the company that performed it are quite what they seem.

Review:

Self-Less is a fast paced, action packed sci-fi movie.

There were some things I wished had been tweaked, particularly Ryan Reynolds picking up on Ben Kingley’s ticks and facial expressions and whatnot. That is something I take for granted in these sort of movies where someone takes over someone else’s features, or even when we are seeing some younger version of the character.

I thought Damian, Kingly’s character, jumped into the process of having his consciousness transferred to a different body much too easily. It was obvious the doctor was hiding something from him but he never pressed for answers. Even later, after the deed was done.
I remember a scene where Damian tells Albright I never told you she was latino and Albright basically goes here’s a ticket to Hawaii and that was that. This main character was just so passive the whole time. Even when he was being proactive, trying to get answers, kicking butt and trying to help Mark’s family I never really got why he was doing it. It was almost as if it was just to get the narrative moving along.

Another thing I did not get was, if Damian was taking over Mark’s consciousness when he was on the meds, how could he fight like Mark? Saying his body remembered the training sounded so lame…

If these patients are not supposed to need pills after 2 years, how come Albright still takes them?

Where in the world did they find the kid a bathing suit and buoys to get Damian to teach her swimming??

The whole thing with the bullet was silly as well. The machine has got to work with electromagnetic fields and whatnot, that had to be ridiculously dangerous.

Then there were the typical scenes that make me lose respect for a movie, where the good guy never runs out of bullets and even while having seizures/hallucinations can take out multiple well-trained operatives.

The ending was beyond predictable and I had guessed who Albright was early on. I hate it when that happens.

But the fact is I had a good time watching the movie, even with all the holes. It was different. I liked the little kid, even if I never felt that Natalie Martinez and Ryan Reynolds had any chemistry together whatsoever. I just don’t get what was up with that casting decision.
Still, it was nice to see Kingsley and Garber again, it’s been a while since I watched a movie featuring those guys. And Matthew Goode was a pleasant surprise, didn’t know the guy.

So in a nutshell, I wasn’t mindblown by any means, but I left the room feeling entertained. Cannot ask for much more these days…

One thought on “Self/Less

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

