The Corridor (The Corridor #1)

Title: The Corridor (The Corridor #1)

Author: A.N. Willis

Genres: Dystopia | Fantasy | Romance | Science Fiction

Length: 217 pages | 2661 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

Seventeen years ago the Corridor appeared in First Earth. People from Second Earth came through, the ones who built the Corridor. They are called Mods, genetically modified human beings, who are feared by everyone in First Earth due to their abilities.
Due to a Corridor malfunction, Estele finds herself with a unique ability, one that may get her incarcerated if anyone finds out. Can she keep hiding it, while finding away to stop Dr Tabor’s plans, which results could be catastrophic? What exactly does she want with the mods?

Review:

The Corridor grew on me fairly quickly, because there was plenty of showing and not telling. I saw the world through Estelle’s eyes and wondered what everyone’s agenda might be.

But there were a few things that inhibited my further enjoyment.
The whole business with Estele’s teleporting could have been much better explained. For instance, ever since I found that she could open a portal to different Earths, I wondered what would happen if she went to somewhere so devastated that the air wasn’t even breathable. I wanted her to wonder that as well.
Also, Estele would mention that the location where she teleported was very important, so that she would end up in the same place on the parallel Earth and yet one time she opened the portal in her apartment and there was no mention where she ended up. There were other instances where I was similarly confused.
And then there was the time when she could not teleport try as she might because she was hurt and yet she could create a portal when fighting the big bad doctor after having been shot.

The novel got a bit too teenagery for my taste in parts, like some of Estele’s lines and the whole romance bit, which I have to admit I did not care for in the least.
Some things seemed overly simplistic, not explained at all, like Estele one minute not believing her dad’s theories and then suddenly she did, without anything happening in between to change her mind.
I had guessed several things before they happened, like how the story Justin told about the kids was crap, what happened to the people in the Barrens and who would end up betraying Estele, although I have to admit I thought Lissa would too. And I never understood why Dr Tabor wanted to build the second Corridor, knowing it was so dangerous. Estele kept wondering that too but I never got an answer.
And the whole naming herself Stel thing was a bit too Divergent for me.

But you know what? Even with all the flaws I enjoyed the book quite a lot.
The world building was very good. Every Earth was different and interesting in their own way. It was funny to see how some things were similar but have different ways. Watching Estele trying to blend in, not raise any red flags, made me anxious and it was a thrilling read for several passages.
At times, the novel was so fast-paced that I almost did not notice the above mentioned holes. Also, some moments were quite emotional, like the scene in the hospital.
I did not finish the book feeling mindblown by any means, but it was a fun ride and I am curious to see what happens next.

Younger audiences will appreciate this book even more than I did.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Aug 29 to Aug 31, 2015
GR Review

3 thoughts on “The Corridor (The Corridor #1)

  1. Great review! I’ve seen this book on Netgalley also. I am thinking of picking it up, but I am not sure. The premise sounds interesting, but the teenage cliche moments throw it off abit for me! xoxo <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally get it, Josephine. I think there is a lot of good stuff that oughtweights the teenagery stuff but, at the same time, I did enjoy the first half of the book more. The world building was very nice.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

