August 2015 Wrap-Up

August was a challenging month but luckily I did manage to get some time out to regroup and focus on some reading, much more than I had anticipated.
I read 3384 pages, which has got to be a new personal record.

Overall, it was a month of great books. I even had trouble picking my favourite of the month.
I ended up having to stick with the one that gave me the biggest hangover and to whose characters I connected the most.

I managed to watch a few movies as well and had a good time in general, even if I did not get as much beach time as I needed.


Summary:

Total Books Read:12

Longest Read: Bird Box (473 pages)

Shortest Read: Time Salvager (Preview Excerpt) (+- 160 pages)

Book of the Month: Every Last Word

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 83/100
20 Books of Summer: 31/20 (2 in original list, 10 not)
2015 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 39/?


August Books:

 

On the first of August I finally finished Hothouse, by Brian W. Aldiss.

It was different from anything I had read, for sure. But different does not always suffice to entertain. In this case, I was bored most of the time. The writing was morose and there was just too much rambling for my taste. The plot was almost non-existent, just an excuse to showcase an interesting world which did not really make sense. At this point, I wish I had not wasted a week of my life trudging through it.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 

 

Once a Goddess by Sheila R. Lamb was a refreshing fantasy tale which incorporated Celtic myths.

I wished I would have seen certain aspects further explored but the story still carried me away.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 
 

The third book of the month was Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition, by Lewis Carroll.
I have been meaning to read this classic for a long time now, and am glad I finally got the chance.
I enjoyed following Alice around Wonderland. As a character, she was not what I envisioned at all. I had no idea she rationalized everything that happened to her so much.
Sadly, I did not enjoy Through The Looking-Glass quite as much.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.

 

 

I then read the sequel to Once a Goddess, Fiery Arrow by Sheila R. Lamb.

I enjoyed reading more about these Irish gods and goddesses and the process of one of them reincarnating and trying to remember their past life, while trying to figure out who to trust. Brigid grew on me.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 
 

Hah, and to think I thought I would not finish this book in time for my buddy read or that I would bitterly regret requesting it more because of the beautiful cover than the blurb…

The Library at Mount Char, by Scott Hawkins was amazing. I am so happy I requested it and especially that I had a full weekend to immerse myself in the story.

Highly recommended! I rated it 4.75/5 stars.

 

 

Elora of Stone by Jaime Lee Mann was an extremely quick read.

I was unimpressed by most of it because it really is aimed for very young children, but I can see why it would be appealing to them.
I did think that the book ended with too many cliffhangers and wished the voices would not have changed so much.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 
 

Every Last Word, by Tamara Ireland Stone had me at, well, every single word. This has got to be one of the best contemporary books coming out this year. It will definitely make my top 10 books.

I learned about Pure-O OCD and it was very refreshing to read about a 16-year-old girl to whom I could relate and with whom I truly sympathized.
It was an incredibly moving book and I highly recommended it.

I rated it 4.75/5 stars.

 
 

I then read Into Coraira (Legend of Rhyme, #2) by Jaime Lee Mann.

I thought it was a nice sequel to Elora of Stone, although there were a lot of characters. Some of it surprised me while some things did not seem to make much sense.
I enjoyed it and believe younger audiences will be even more thrilled while reading it.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.
 
 

I moved on to a preview excerpt of Time Salvager by Wesley Chu.

I had not read sci-fi in a while nor anything by this author.
It was bleak and dark, great world development even if some concepts seemed a bit off, but overall I enjoyed it and was curious to know what came next.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 
 

A buddy read of Bird Box, by Josh Malerman ensued.

It was a thrilling read. I wish some things had been further explained, and others not just so blatantly assumed, but I still had a lot of fun reading it and recommend it.

I rated it 4.25/5 stars.

 
 
The 11th book of the month was the third in the Brigid Series, Church of the Oak by Sheila R. Lamb.

It was a very quick read. I enjoyed the mythology and the magic and wished I had seen more.
I had trouble connecting to some characters, especially one of the main ones, but overall I had a good time and recommend the entire series.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 
 

My last book of the month was The Corridor (The Corridor #1), by A.N. Willis.

It was a fast-paced sci-fi thriller obviously very much oriented for teenagers.

I could have done without the romance and some things felt overly simplistic, as in, required more explanation for me to feel truly satisfied, but the world building was pretty well achieved and I was curious to know what came next in the series.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 
 


 

Where I got the books:

Author:

  • Once a Goddess
  • Fiery Arrow
  • Church of the Oak

Blogging for Books

  • The Library at Mount Char

Book Depository:

  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass: 100th Anniversary Edition
  • Bird Box

Netgalley:

  • Hothouse
  • The Library at Mount Char
  • Elora of Stone
  • Every Last Word
  • Into Coraira (Legend of Rhyme, #2)
  • Time Salvager (Preview Excerpt)
  • The Corridor (The Corridor #1)
  •  

    Movie Reviews:

 

Reblogs:

 

Other Posts in August:

 


How was August for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

7 thoughts on “August 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. What a productive month! Once school kicks up again–I teach college classes–I slow down on my reading, which always makes me sad. However, I keep up on reading blogs, too. Do you like to read other bloggers’ reviews as well?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I do yes, I especially enjoy reading reviews on books I have read as well, to compare notes.

      Unfortunately I no longer have much time to do that anymore. I jumped from one job to the other very suddenly with only a one week break and my new job is much more time demanding…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great wrap up! It seems that you had a variety of good and not so good books read this month! The Corridor had posed interest to me for a while now and it was great to hear your thoughts on it!
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: September 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

