The Visit

The Visit

Rating: 3.75/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A single mother finds that things in her family’s life go very wrong after her two young children visit their grandparents.

Review:

The Visit is a suspenseful, thrilling movie, as M. Night Shyamalan has grown us used to.

Let me start by saying that the actors were extremely well cast. I don’t believe I had ever seen young people portrayed quite like this – the 13-year-old boy was so very refreshing – and both the grandparents could turn from endearing and loving to creepy and spooky in a heartbeat.

I have to admit I felt the movie was slow-paced for the most part. Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of suspense as I mentioned and some parts were quite scary but I thought it was odd that the days kept rolling by when they would only be at the house for a week and nothing much seemed to be happening.

The entire flick is filmed as a documentary by both teens. They both have a cinematography interest, but I suspect the purpose of doing said documentary was to reunite their estranged mother with her parents.

So there’s plenty of funky perspectives, realistic monologues and a lot more humour than I had expected, though some ironies I did not appreciate at all (ex.: the kids playing a car game where they make up people who live in a building, one of them makes up a policeman named Jerry who is never around and when the police station is actually rung by a character the call gets picked up by voicemail and yep you guessed it, it’s a guy named Jerry who isn’t around)..

The humour was quite refreshing for the most part; it compensated the slow pace. But I kept wondering when I was going to get a clue as to what the heck was happening. The two kids notice some funky stuff happening but they brush it off as old people stuff and that takes up much too long.

In the end, I was extremely disappointed that there was actually not a supernatural thing whatsoever happening there. But getting to that conclusion and then putting all the pieces together was quite exciting.

It was an odd mixture of feelings, this one. But I definitely recommend it, if only for the originality of the story and set up of the whole situation.

One thought on “The Visit

  1. Pingback: September 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

