Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Rating: 3/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
After having escaped the Maze, the Gladers now face a new set of challenges on the open roads of a desolate landscape filled with unimaginable obstacles.

Review:

I am not quite sure what I was expecting from this movie but I left the room with an odd sense of a lot having happened but… not really. Let me try to elaborate.

Considering where the first movie left off, I expected this one to be filled with dismal landscapes, high-tech facilities, saviours who I was pretty sure the gladers should not trust. I got all that.
I liked those first scenes when they were at the facilities and tried to figure out what was going on. New characters were met, alliances formed when Thomas realizes something fishy is going on and then atrocious things discovered.

But then it sort of went downhill for me because it felt like the characters were being pushed from one place to the next in a rather pointless way. There were a lot of Come on, hurry up!! or Let’s go, follow me! and running, lots of it. There were narrowly escaped near-death experiences, a few very suspenseful scenes, which was nice, and very scary ones, particularly when people who had contracted the flair were involved – but mostly I was tired and wanted more plot-wise.

I guess The Scorch Trials suffers from that which seems to be present in pretty much all, if not all, movie adaptations of books. I am sure it all makes sense in the book, but in the movie it felt like they were trying to cram too much stuff in its relatively short duration, which took meaning from it.

I am glad I got some answers, and new questions which I am sure I will want to see answered in the third movie, but I guess I wanted a bit more background and coherence to the story. I wanted the narrative to take its time being established and instead there was just a lot of running and I was left wondering things like when and what do these people eat? or where to they get fuel, not to mention other supplies?.

It was an exciting movie and it made me want to read the books.

If you are looking for an action packed adventure movie with teenage characters this will do the trick. Make sure you watch the first one, though.

4 thoughts on “Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

  1. Pingback: September 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

