Annihilation (Southern Reach #1)

Title: Annihilation (Southern Reach #1)

Author: Jeff VanderMeer

Genres: Dystopia | Fantasy | Horror | Mystery | Science Fiction | Speculative Fiction | Thriller

Format: Mobi

Length: 195 pages | 2387 locations

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3.75/5

 

Premise:

This is the story of the twelfth expedition to Area X, a place that has been kept in shadows by a secret government agency called Southern Reach.
Our narrator is the biologist in the team. Along with a psychologist, an anthropologist and a surveyor, she will discover there is much to Area X that they were not told.

Review:

It took me a while to warm up to Annihilation because the sentences were long and it was just so descriptive.

After that, either it had its up and downs or I just got used to the style, for the most part.
I did feel as if I were in a rollercoaster because one minute I could not wait to see what came next and then I was just bored because I was so flabbergasted. The fact is I did not really grasp all the concepts/theories told there, so my mind drifted off a bit.

One thing’s for sure, the suspense was always there, building up. The setting was creepy and I was constantly on my toes. I never knew who anyone’s agenda was or what their reaction to the situations might be. The book had such a dream-like quality to it and I kept wondering what was real or what exactly the truth was. But, I gotta tell ya, trying to define the undefinable will mess with your head.

The change in the narrative piqued my interest. For example, the characters were all pretty anonymous – we are never even told their names – but at some point the author begins throwing in a bit of background on the main one. Although this never meant that I related to her any further, I appreciated the change in dimension.

In the end, I was baffled. Yes, the writing threw me off and I finished the book with more questions than answers but I was still enthralled by the story.

Watching the mystery unfold was very enjoyable, but I wish I had finished with more closure. It was confusing but mesmerizing and I do recommend it. I would definitely read the other two books and hope answers will be provided because after this first one all I can say is that was a surreal ride.

Note: Feel free to visit this book’s buddy read here and comment if you have read this novel and the following ones. I would love to know if you felt a feeling of full closure after the entire trilogy was done.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Oct 09 to Oct 11, 2015
GR Review

5 thoughts on “Annihilation (Southern Reach #1)

  1. A really enjoyable and penetrating review of an interestingly difficult book… I, too, found it disturbing and though I keep meaning to, I haven’t yet got around to reading the other 2 books – my TBR pile is tilting at crazy angles just now as it gets ever taller. I am now fired up to have a go at the next 2 slices of the adventure, however!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

