Conguise Chronicles: The Rise Of the River-Man (Mutter’s Story)

Title: Conguise Chronicles: The Rise Of the River-Man (Mutter’s Story)

Author: L.S. O’Dea

Genres: Fantasy | Horror | Science Fiction

Format: Mobi

Length: 108 pages | 1426 locations

Source: Author

Rating: 4.25/5

 

Premise:

Mutter is a guard who has not known a kind person all his life. Now that he has lost a fight, his Almighty master left him in the shelter. A stranger, who might be his only hope, asks him to do something horrible, in order to see if Mutter will obey him in the future.
It can’t possibly be any worse than where he is now… Right?

Review:

While waiting for the third instalment of the Lake of Sins trilogy, the author was kind enough to hand me this little pearl.

For those who have not read the main books this may be a bit confusing, although Miss O’Dea includes an introduction to the main world concepts in the beginning of the story and a glossary at the end.

For those who have read the Lake of Sins books, this is the true story behind the myth of the River Man.

I have to say that, considering how short the tale was, it was quite well crafted. I was engaged from the get-go, just like with the other books. Without getting into details that would spoil this for you, there is a bit of a romance going on. The author obviously went through great lengths not to make this insta-love and I would say she succeeded for the most part, which I gotta tell ya, not easy with little over 100 pages.

I guess it was mostly the beauty and the beast vibe that didn’t cut it for me. I would have liked to see more of a reaction from Sweet when she first met Mutter. The guy did sound quite scary, after all. Also, names have always been a thing with me and these books. Sweet? Meh. I think the guy could have come up with something better than a pet name. His escape felt a little bit rushed to me as well.

Anyway, those couple of things did not hinder my enjoyment by much at all and I breezed through the story. Amazingly, there was a lot going on. There’s a scary laboratory with a creepy professor and assistant and it does get very frightening at some points. The character development of Mutter was also pretty good! I definitely got carried away and read it all in one go. And the ending gave me a sort of odd feeling of contentment. It puzzled me that I would feel that way…

This can be read as a stand-alone but I think you would enjoy it more if you read the other books of the series.
I highly recommend all Lake of Sins books.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the author for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read on Oct 18, 2015
GR Review

One thought on “Conguise Chronicles: The Rise Of the River-Man (Mutter’s Story)

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

