Village of the Damned (1995)

Village of the Damned

Rating: 2.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A small town’s women give birth to unfriendly alien children posing as humans.

Review:

I have been wanting to watch this movie for ages now. I actually had not realized there was a previous version from the 60s, though. After finishing this version and reading a couple of reviews, I think I would have been better off watching that one instead.

Don’t get me wrong, there were still some pretty scary scenes. It’s just that they were mostly scary due to the gore and obvious horror, not so much the psychological thriller aspect that could have been developed here.

I thought that if maybe I did not end up enjoying the movie much it would be due to special effects having developed so greatly in the past 20 years, so it would strike me as corny. But really, it wasn’t that at all. I felt a lack of cohesion in the plot, the acting really wasn’t that good (not too bad either) and in the end, given this awesome premise, the movie could have been so much more.

There could have been a lot more suspense, or at least more properly done. The women never even wondered about what was growing inside them, just went about their normal lives. Husbands who could not have possibly have conceived the child come back as if nothing happened and there is just no bafflement regarding the entire predicament!

When I thought the horror was finally building up it would have no proper resolution. After a while, even the children’s powers got dull, creepy as they were, because I knew what was coming next, in one form or the other.

I had really hoped I would be terrified watching this. I even watched the movie late at night. In the end, I was just disappointed and slightly bored.
Maybe I will watch the original some time.
 

3 thoughts on “Village of the Damned (1995)

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

