The Intern

The Intern

Rating: 4.25/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
70-year-old widower Ben Whittaker has discovered that retirement isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Seizing an opportunity to get back in the game, he becomes a senior intern at an online fashion site, founded and run by Jules Ostin.

Review:

This was a surprisingly positive experience.

First of all, I think that pretty much any other actor in the role of Ben Whittaker would not have been able to shine the way that Robert DeNiro did. I felt like he was almost a presence, not really an active character, and yet he always managed to stand out, even when he didn’t say anything. DeNiro turned Whittaker into the perfect listener and a compassionate human being, the effortless gentleman that just does not exist anymore.

It was truly a pleasure to watch him, as well as Anne Hathaway. I was afraid that this would turn out to be yet another romantic comedy with no content whatsoever and it wasn’t, at all.
Hathaway plays the role of the successful young woman who rose to the top on her own. She owns a company and is struggling to deal with the rapid growth. Someone who is obviously in a position of power decides to start a senior internship program and that’s where DeNiro’s character steps in.

At first, Jules (Hathaway) pays him no attention and even tries to get rid of him. But then, quiet Ben turns out to be just the thing she needed. I think she never really finds out how protective he was of her and that made the story even more special. He was just there. It made me appreciate the people in my life who are just there and I never stop to appreciate it.

It is a fairly light movie but with content and even a bit thought-provoking. You don’t see much of that these days, so I definitely recommend that you go watch this.

5 thoughts on “The Intern

  1. This movie has been on my mind for WEEKS now! I need to see this gentleman of a character and this movie in general! I feel like I’m such an old-fashioned lady at heart because when I head there was a gentlemanly type character I was instantly engaged with the movie.
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

