Crimson Peak

Crimson Peak

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
In the aftermath of a family tragedy, an aspiring author is torn between love for her childhood friend and the temptation of a mysterious outsider. Trying to escape the ghosts of her past, she is swept away to a house that breathes, bleeds – and remembers.

Review:

Ok this one is going to contain a few mild spoilers, can’t help it!

I am not sure if I had ever watched a Guillermo del Toro movie because I have to be honest, I don’t generally look at the director of whatever movie I am picking, but I have to say I was thoroughly impressed.

There was little I did not enjoy about the movie much. I mean, Edith could have wondered where her husband went when she woke up in the middle of the night, I never really got the deal with her and Alan and some scares were a bit predictable but boy… What a beautifully weaved horror story.

I think this was the only movie I have watched to date where even ghosts that had good intention were outright terrifying. I jumped on my seat a couple of times and in the end I was so glad the doggie did not get hurt.

The outstanding performance for me here was definitely Jessica Chastain but everyone did so well. The development of each character was beautifully done.

Acting aside, I would have to say that a big strength of this movie would be the wardrobe. And the setting. And the soundtrack. Ok, you got me, everything was awesome. But…
Those colours… So rich and luxurious and even a plain nightgown was so elaborate.
The constant whatevers cascading down from the hole in the roof, I could never really tell whether they were leaves or ash or whatever.
It was all just so dauntingly magical.

And at night… Well, at night the house just came alive in the most terrifying manner. If I am going to be pickier I would have liked Edith to be more scared. I know I would have pissed myself in her place. But it makes sense in the movie, given her past.

Anyway, long story short, it’s an awesome movie. Go watch it. Preferably in a big screen. It is well worth the money.

One thought on “Crimson Peak

  1. Pingback: November 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

