The Gift

The Gift

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A young married couple’s lives are thrown into a harrowing tailspin when an acquaintance from the husband’s past brings mysterious gifts and a horrifying secret to light after more than 20 years.

Review:

I have been craving for a psychological thriller with a great plot and a few good scares.
The Gift delivers on all accounts.

I am still baffled at how Joel Edgerton wrote, directed and played such a major role in the movie.
And, boy, was he great. I could tell something was off with that character but not quite what or exactly how dangerous he was.

But the masterpiece is watching the characters unravel, the masks coming out. When the secret that has been buried for so long is finally discovered, the characters’ true colours also show and that is when the brilliance of the performances is revealed in full blast.

One thing I didn’t get was, if Gordon was such a deadbeat with such a lame job, then how could he afford all the gifts? I wish that had been further explored and I wanted to know more of that character overall but I truly enjoyed myself.

In a nutshell, there’s this creepy guy coming around the house the couple just moved into and one of the main characters, who is home alone while the other is working, doesn’t do what I have come to expect of crappy movies of the sort, keeping to herself or other characters who are obvious to us that cannot be trusted. No, she goes to her neighbours, she comments the situation with other people, there are witnesses to what is happening. I thought that, amongst other details, was very smart.

The pace of the movie was very well-balanced. There was plenty of tension and it kept me guessing what came next and how everything was going to pan out and what exactly happened in this or that situation. And just when I thought I had it figured out, I was presented with a plethora of twists and turns that I never saw coming.
Even though I am usually not a fan of unfinished business, in this case the ending totally made sense and I felt I got full closure despite that minor detail.

I highly recommend The Gift and truly hope it would be more advertised at least in my country.

One thought on “The Gift

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

