December 2015 Wrap-Up

Alas, the year comes to an end.

Sadly I did not get much reading time this month either but overall I can say I had a pretty great year.

I created Ana’s Lair on February 19th and there was a period where I would post everyday.
Then my life changed and my free time was drastically reduced, mostly due to a much yearned for new job (yay!), so I have not been able to be as active as I wished.

I am at least happy to say I believe my Books page is now up to date. It had to be at least 3 to 4 months since I was able to add the information because I am a noob at coding and kept getting errors. No time to deal with them, which added to the frustration, so yeah, I am happy to finish the year with all that done. Still, let me know if you find any mistakes!

Ah… 2015. I was lucky enough to meet some awesome people on the blogosphere so thank you all so much for visiting and especially for your feedback! I truly appreciate each and every comment :)

Here’s to an awesome new year! *cheers*


December Summary:

Total Books Read: 3

Longest Read: True Calling (400 pages)

Shortest Read: The Realms of the Dead: Crossfades and Bleedovers (265 pages)

Book of the Month: The Humans

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 103/100 You can view them all here.
2015 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 52/?


December Books:

 

The first book I finished in December was True Calling, by Siobhan Davis.

I wanted more out of this dystopia. The romance was simply overpowering and I finished it feeling very disappointed.
It was still entertaining at parts and I recommend it to teenagers.

I rated it 2/5 stars.

 

 

I then read The Humans, by Matt Haig.

It is obviously a novel intended to make you think. As I mentioned in my review, I finished it with an intense sense of nostalgia.
I felt some things should have been handled better or further explored, particularly in the science fiction department, but overall it was a special book and I recommend it.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.

 

 

The last book I managed to finish in 2015 was a little two in one, The Realms of the Dead: Crossfades and Bleedovers, by William Todd Rose.
Overall these two novellas were quite a pleasant surprise! Well, perhaps pleasant is not the right word, considering the genre. I hadn’t read such good horror in a long time.
I had a few issues with each of the stories but overall both were a thrilling read and I could definitely see a series spinning off the adventures of Chuck Grainger.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.

 

 


Where I got the books:

Author:

  • True Calling

 
Book Depository

  • The Humans

 
Netgalley:

  • The Realms of the Dead: Crossfades and Bleedovers

 

Movie Reviews:

 

Other Posts in December:

 


How was December for you?
And the entire year?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

3 thoughts on “December 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: January 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

