Room

Title: Room

Author: Emma Donoghue

Genres: Contemporary

Length: 433 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 4.8/5

Premise:

Jack just turned 5 and his whole world is Room. He thinks he knows what is real and what is not but when his mother finally gathers the courage to escape their captor Jack’s entire world is turned upside down.

Review:

This was a very touching book. I believe it’s safe to say that no one can come out of this experience unaffected.

Because it is told in first person by 5 year old Jack, I didn’t just become incredibly depressed reading this or burst to tears at the horrendous situation. Jack tells us about his world: why something is that way, what happens after a certain something, what consequences certain actions have… There is a routine for everything and Jack and he is actually happy because he does not know any other way. It’s not bad, it’s his life. And then everything changes.

The only downside I could find reading this was that I would get tired because there was a lot of rambling and it was a tad repetitive, which totally makes sense because the book is told in Jack’s voice and he is 5 and to be fair it’s part of the book’s charm. I would have to think what was going on because it was told from such a different perspective, which was amazing but a bit overwhelming at times.

The fact is Room is a roller-coaster ride of emotions and even if some things did not feel very realistic (like is it even possible for a mother to be that patient all the time or that Jack would just accept orders without throwing more tantrums) the fact is I wouldn’t know, this is something no human being should ever have to experience and I have to admit the author did a pretty damn good job telling this story.

There is a lot of depth to this book, not only going on Jack’s journey but also trying to figure out the character of Ma and even the rest of the family. There were hints here and there that piqued my interest but I was not bothered that they were not further addressed because the book had a clear voice and it was Jack’s, who I am sure will stay with me for a long time.

I highly recommend this novel and I am looking forward to watching the movie.

Read from Feb 19 to Feb 26, 2016

GR Review

11 thoughts on “Room

  1. I agree on your point on it having a lot of rambling and a tad repetitive. Quite draggy after a while. The premise was what keeps me going. I thought it would make an interesting movie and it did. I haven’t watched the movie though. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, thanks for your comment, that is exactly what I was trying to say. Even though it was totally in character, I did feel that it dragged and I found it hard to focus. But the story is just so rich I could not help giving it such a high rating.

      Let me know if you watch the movie, I plan to do it this weekend!

      Like

  2. I absolutely loved this book… Yes, the voice was repetitive – and I’ve also heard comments criticising the fact that the 5 yr old vocab gets a bit adult towards the end of the book. But I’m prepared to cut her some slack… I thought she tackled a very difficult subject really, really well. It’s now several years since I read the book – and I recall it vividly. I’m glad you like it – I’ve no plans to watch the film, though…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, there were discrespancies in the vocabulary but as you said it doesn’t really matter.
      I was also surprised that I was ok with the ending. I have been disappointed so many times by them but here it just made sense and I got closure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well that is where the ending gave me comfort. It felt like he was slowly letting go of that feeling, as when he was confronted with reality he didn’t even recognize Room much and actually finished by saying goodbye, so it felt to me like he was beginning to let go.

        As for his adjustment to the world, that’s another matter. It will always be difficult and I wonder how strong his mother will be, amongst other things.

        I actually started a topic in my GR group, Book Lair, because I would love to discuss these questions: https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/18031616-room

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: February 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

