The Oddfits (The Oddfits Series #1)

Title: The Oddfits (The Oddfits Series #1)

Author: Tiffany Tsao

Genres: Adventure | Fantasy | Science Fiction

Length: 256 pages | 4191 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 2.75/5

Premise:

Murgatroyd Floyd has never felt that he fit in anywhere during his life but knew that, one day, something special would happen to him. At 25 years of age, strange events start to unfold, confirming his suspicion.

Review:

This is a tough one to review. I cannot say I loved it, I don’t know if because of the story itself or the asian influences that I still have not gotten used to in literature but the fact is for a long time since I began reading it all I could think of was that it has been a long time since I read a book that dragged on this much, if ever.

At times, the prose was beyond repetitive – not only the pages and pages about food and other random stuff but the characters themselves. They would be described, then stuff in the middle, then a repetition of the description in more or less an elaborate manner. This happened most often with Kay Huat, our main character’s best friend came into the picture. I felt I kept reading the same kind of stuff, and this applies to Murgatroyd’s dumbness as well and how he kept saying he felt something great was coming for him.

For a large part of the book we hear how our main character is dumb and how his parents seem absolutely crazy but no one seems to mind or even notice.
There are hints of interesting things just waiting to happen but, again, the narrative just drags on and on about boring and meaningless topics.

There were positive things as well, of course. I especially enjoyed the transformation that Murgatroyd went when he went to work as a waiter but overall he just wasn’t an interesting character. None of them were. The world was a bit but too much was left unexplained or felt contradictory.

The story got more interesting in the last third of the book but, honestly, the few things I read about the premise, which will supposedly be developed in the following books of the series, did not interest me enough to keep reading it.

I recommend it to people more patient than me and who can appreciate this sort of literature and humour.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Feb 28 to Mar 02, 2016
GR Review

3 thoughts on “The Oddfits (The Oddfits Series #1)

    • It is one of those weird books that I cannot really say that I did not enjoy! I didn’t enjoy it either, though. So weird…
      I think it takes a special type of taste/humour to truly appreciate it.

      Like

  1. Pingback: March 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

