The Boy

The Boy

Rating: 1.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
An American nanny is shocked that her new English family’s boy is actually a life-sized doll. After she violates a list of strict rules, disturbing events make her believe that the doll is really alive.

Review:

Oh man, I just cannot seem to catch a break with horror movies lately.

Quite frankly, The Boy bored me. The beginning was intriguing and the ending fast-paced (kind of too much, not sure if I really got what had happened) but, in between, there just seemed to be a whole lot of nothing. The main character’s evolution is one example of why I found the movie unappealing. There was no cohesion.

The story starts with a quirky couple about to leave, supposedly on vacation, so they hire a nanny to take care of their son, who turns out to be a doll. There is a list of tasks she must perform with the doll everyday or bad things will happen. At least that’s what the trailed led me to believe.

For me, the highlight of the movie was precisely watching that couple and how each handled the doll. The entire set was lovely as well, both the house and the few surroundings we get to see.

Even though the film had its moments, there isn’t nearly as much suspense as I had hoped. Or rather, it felt like all the suspense’s resolution was saved till the end, in a sequence that came across as jumbled and nonsensical.

First of all, why would that ridiculous list matter? I found no connection to the way the plot developed at all. Seems to me like things were bound to go batshit at any point, list following or otherwise. Also, if Brahms was really an adult, how come she heard a kid’s voice every now and then? Calling her name, so it couldn’t be a recording from the past. And finally, was there anything supernatural about the guy at all? The mask was all sparkly and he seemed inhumanely strong but the story seems to point towards him living locked up his whole life in the walls of the house. The supernatural strength doesn’t really make much sense, does it?

If I am going to wait that long to have resolution, it better make me drop my jaw. It didn’t. Not even close.

I just cannot recommend this one.

One thought on “The Boy

  1. Pingback: March 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

