The Pit: Watchmaker’s Hell: Book One

Title: The Pit: Watchmaker’s Hell: Book One

Author: L.A. Barnes

Genres: Fantasy | Horror | Mystery | Paranormal | Post-apocalyptic

Length: 460 pages | 4617 locations

Source: Author / Netgalley

Format: Mobi / Locked PDF

Rating: 3.75/5

Premise:

When people die, they go to a far different place than what they had pictured.
One man, with his own agenda, knows how everything works. But he won’t tell.

Review:

I have to admit The Pit surprised me.

It took me a while to get into this book. There were a lot of characters and the setting of the world seemed a bit too abrupt – in other words, it felt like info dumping.

Throughout the story, I was confused because I could not keep track of who was who and what their story was on Earth and in the beginning things were particularly difficult because certain premises about the world seemed to contradict themselves.

Some still didn’t make much sense, like why only two dozen bodies fell on the Pit at a time or even why it took 2000 years for something like this to happen to someone as experienced as Marcus or why Lauren wasted a bullet if they were that valuable, amongst others I can no longer recall, but you know what? I actually enjoyed this quite a bit and I am sure that with enough time to fully dedicate to the story I would not experience most of the difficulties I had – even if I had to take notes it would be worth it.

The version I read could use a good editing. Sometimes the way things were written wasn’t the clearest, some words or expressions felt almost pretentious, and I personally could have done without the several ‘with (…), what was X to do?’, but that’s a personal pet peeve of mine.

It was very refreshing to see such a new version of Hell and Heaven and the author did a great job overall, building several new concepts. The narrative is quite suspenseful at times and as the pieces come together you cannot help but feel enthralled by the story and wanting to know what comes next.

Keep in mind that this is a dark book. It addresses several sensitive subjects and experiments with them, such as violence, sex and religion, amongst others. So it is not a book everyone can handle. However, if you are ok with this, you should definitely check it out.

The author has 4 more books programmed for this series. I, for one, am intrigued to see what comes next.

Note: I would like to take the opportunity to thank the author for the Mobi file as, once again, Netgalley only provided the locked ACSM file.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the author, the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Mar 03 to Mar 10, 2016
GR Review

One thought on “The Pit: Watchmaker’s Hell: Book One

  1. Pingback: March 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

