Allegiant

Allegiant – Part 1

Rating: 3.8/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
After the earth-shattering revelations of Insurgent, Tris must escape with Four beyond the wall that encircles Chicago to finally discover the shocking truth of what lies behind it.

Review:

This was actually pretty good, considering the major disappointment I got in the previous movie.

It didn’t start very well, in my opinion. The main characters were posey, their dialogues dull and after a while the running starts and, again, the good guys never get shot while running on open field, and yet the bad guys drop like flies. Then someone dies in a really obvious way and I was like… Eurgh.

But then we see the world outside the wall and the CGI there was pretty cool, even though something felt off. Throughout the movie some parts where blotchy, but the art concepts were tremendously well conceived. There was a lot of cool tech in this one!

As usual I think some fighting scenes were overdone and the sound effects were just ridiculous – especially the knife ones – but I guess it was to be expected.

There was a fairly good pace to the movie and it did not focus sickly on lovey-dovey Tris and Four. She actually did not seem that annoying and attention-seeking to me in this one!

I cannot say the story or even the plot twists were mind blowing but, for once, I let the FX dazzle me.

I wish the story had been better developed because it felt disjointed quite often, but I was actually too entertained to mind that.

Overall a time well spent, quite entertaining.

One thought on “Allegiant

  1. Pingback: March 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

