The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A writer and wall street trader, Nick, finds himself drawn to the past and lifestyle of his millionaire neighbor, Jay Gatsby.

Review:

I know I am a tad late, but I finally got to watching The Great Gatsby.

Not having read the book, I am not sure what I was expecting, but this sure wasn’t it.

The narration of the movie between now and then and the transition to written form is such a brilliant touch, as is the contrast between present day and the narrative time.

The imagery was stunning. At times, I felt I was looking at something coming out of a modern fairytale.

I suppose that was the purpose of the movie. It was the Roaring Twenties. Anything was allowed.

I have to admit I was not quite sure why this new guy who no one really knows much and who has no money gets shown around to people’s darkest secrets. I felt that needed more build-up. On the other hand, the movie’s pace was insane and I guess that would have spoiled it.

One of the things I did not expect from this movie was that it had such a romantic component. The characters’ development, particularly Gatsby and later Carraway, was excellent.

I think I postponed watching this movie for so long because I thought I would be bored. I couldn’t be more wrong. I definitely recommend it.

8 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby

    • Ahah really? I’m not really sure what I would have done in her shoes, tbh. The way I see it, both men were crooks, each in their own way. And she had a little girl who was only mentioned twice in the entire movie, meh.

      I don’t know, I never got the feeling what she and Gatsby had was solid, it’s like they never left that puppies and rainbows early stage of being in love.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: April 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

