The Help

The Help

Rating: 5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
An aspiring author during the civil rights movement of the 1960s decides to write a book detailing the African-American maids’ point of view on the white families for which they work, and the hardships they go through on a daily basis.

Review:

I am not sure I have ever given maximum rating to any movie in the past. I honestly cannot think of a single bad thing about this film. I had heard a lot of good things about it but I never expected to be blown away like this. I put off watching it because it is so long and I thought the story might be too heavy for me to handle but boy could I not be more wrong on both accounts.

What an incredibly moving and real story. It is a tale of injustice, suffering, humiliation and plenty of heartbreak but also of bravery, hope and redemption, balanced with just the right type and amount of humour. Every single character was spot on but the main two ‘help’ were simply superb. The narrative development was just perfect and I would never say the movie was as long as it actually is. I was taken along for the ride and enjoyed every single minute of it.

I cannot recommend this movie enough. I guarantee it will take you through the most intense and varied range of emotions and maybe even inspire you to do something great, or at the very least look at things in your life under an entirely different light.

Please. Just watch it.

4 thoughts on “The Help

  1. I also really enjoyed this one – which was something of a surprise because I also loved the book and mostly when I enjoy the book, I don’t like the film very much. I thought they did a great job on The Help.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  3. Pingback: Fences | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

