A Shadowed Spirit (Tree and Tower #2)

Title: A Shadowed Spirit (Tree and Tower #2)

Author: Sara C. Snider

Genres: Adventure | Fantay

Length: 250 pages | 3054 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.9/5

 

Premise:

After the first book’s events, Siyan feels torn on whether to pursue her quest to find her people in the forest or know more about the dangerous Magistrates. Once her goal becomes clear, so does the fact that she has a lot to learn. But was she born to learn or to teach?

Review:

A Shadowed Spirit did not disappoint. It enthrals you in same beautiful writing that the first book did. The ability of this author to weave words into breathtaking settings and actions never ceases to amaze me.

There were a few things here and there that made the book not perfect for me.
Romance – My pet peeve. Even though the author tried to convey a sense of mystic connection between the two beings, I still felt they were strangers and their closeness came too quickly.
A couple of characters disappeared too suddenly from the story.
I felt some parts dragged on a wee bit during the inner monologues/questions and there was some repetitiveness to it from paragraph to paragraph or chapter to chapter. Also, the phrase ‘it was all X could do to…’ felt like a crutch, it was particularly repetitive.
Oh, and I missed Cobber. Her humour brought a dimension to the story that I truly craved. I suppose there was no place for her though, considering the novel’s tone.

A Shadowed Spirit is a much darker book than its predecessor, in my opinion. There is much doubt around Siyan – about herself, who she is, what her people area. When she first seeks some answers, I have to admit I was surprised and confused at the development of that part. I did not understand why Emora would drive her away like that and much less why Enon rambled about her being selfish when she clearly did not want that mission.
However, it is also a more intimate story.

The way the narrative develops allows for Siyan to come across her answers in a wondrous, magical manner. However, a very dark one as well. At one point I felt that the characters, particularly Siyan, constantly dreading and even seeking some sort of self-destruction to achieve peace or their means was a bit overbearing.

In the end, some of story’s scenes will stick in my mind for their beauty, strength, purity and/or uniqueness. The fact is the book completely grabbed my attention, I read it any chance I got, and I am looking forward to seeing what happens next.

I recommend that you read this book after the first one, The Thirteenth Tower.
Keep an eye on Sara Snider, she is a very tallented fantasy writer.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the author for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from May 11th to May 13th, 2016
GR Review

One thought on “A Shadowed Spirit (Tree and Tower #2)

  1. Pingback: May 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

