Julia

Title: Julia

Author: Peter Straub

Genres: Horror | Mystery | Paranormal

Length: 304 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 2/5

Premise:

When Julia makes a bold decision and moves to a new house, she starts to see a little girl running around, one who looks tremendously like her dead daughter Kate.

Review:

I really wanted to like Julia. However, she must have been the most vapid main character I have ever read about.

Also, no one in this novel seemed to actually work. Almost everyone is rich and has all the time in the world. I simply could not connect to any of the characters in this book, which obviously hindered my enjoyment of the story.

The development of the story wasn’t amazing either. There is an air of mystery but on the other hand not so much, as Julia’s suspicions turn out to be right quite often.

The story did start fairly well, with quite a creepy premise, but the way it was developed was boring and nonsensical. One of the few positives was watching Julia unravel. Other than that, the narrative really was quite tedious, with lines thrown in just for the sake of it, or so it felt like.

The third and last part of the book went by like a weird hallucination and I finished without a sense of closure for the story or the characters.

So I don’t know if it’s just me but Julia seemed quite a bit hyped and was a disappointment for me, especially since I truly enjoyed the author’s other books.

Maybe if I had read it when it was written I would have liked it more, I don’t know. As it is, I truly struggled to finish.

Read from May 14th to May 24th, 2016

GR Review

5 thoughts on “Julia

  1. Pingback: May 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

