May 2016 Wrap-Up

May was an OK month, not much to say, really.
I was very busy and didn’t have the time or the brainpower to dive in books as I had wanted. It was hard to focus.
I did watch a couple of great movies, which I thoroughly missed.

I am ready for Summer now!


Summary:

Total Books Read: 4

Longest Read: Carbide Tipped Pens: Seventeen Tales of Hard Science Fiction. (400 pages)

Shortest Read: Fahrenheit 451 (159 pages)

Book of the Month: Fahrenheit 451

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 23/50
2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 14/?


May Books:

 

The first book I finished in May was Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury.
It was the first book I read by this author and I can understand why it became a classic.
The writing style didn’t always catch my attention 100%, especially towards the end, but there is plenty of food for thought in this tiny gem and so I recommend that everyone reads it at least once in their lifetime.

I rated it 4/5 stars.

 

 

Then I read a hard sci-fi anthology featuring work by several authors, Carbide Tipped Pens: Seventeen Tales of Hard Science Fiction.

It had some really interesting concepts. Some did lose me, as did the writing on a few stories, but it was fairly enjoyable overall.
Fans of hard sci-fi and short stories will definitely appreciate it more than I did.

I rated it 2.75/5 stars.

I moved on to the second book in Tree and Tower trilogy by Sara C. Snider, A Shadowed Spirit.

I truly enjoy this author’s writing and the fantasy world she created. At times I was not a fan of the direction the story took but I still think these two books are amazing and am looking forward to the third one.

I rated it 3.9/5.

 

 

I was pretty disappointed in Julia by Peter Straub.

The premise was quite creepy but I could not relate to any of the characters and the development of the story just seemed off. I actually found it pretty boring.
I finished the book not feeling any closure and as confused as throughout the narrative.

I rated it 2/5 stars.

 


Where I got the books:

Amazon

  • Julia

Author:

  • A Shadowed Spirit

Book Depository

  • Fahrenheit 451

Netgalley:

  • Carbide Tipped Pens: Seventeen Tales of Hard Science Fiction

 

Movie Reviews:

 

Other Posts in May:

 


How was May for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

One thought on “May 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: June 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

