Dead Petals-An Apocalypse

Title: Dead Petals-An Apocalypse

Author: Eric Ortlund

Genres: Horror | Paranormal | Post-apocalyptic

Length: 362 pages | 4807 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 2.25/5

Premise:

Death has arrived. The undead are everywhere but they are not zombies – they are something entirely new.
A group of people tries to make sense of this new world and find their place in it.

Review:

I was not a fan of Dead Petals. My first impression was that the prose was stilted. I didn’t like that, for instance, every character seemed to throw out a poetic phrase every now and then (I was particularly thrown off by Archer/Jack’s written assignment).
Also, the narrative style seemed much too broken. A character would say something, either stop or be interrupted, and then that line of thought never got picked up again.
The same happened with events along the story. Something would happen, then something else, then a whole lot of nothing, then a whole lot of nothing for a different character and boy was it dull and bleak.

Some descriptions are beautiful in a very creepy way but the repetitiveness and nothingness took out the beauty and enjoyment, for me. I was not able to relate to any of the characters even though they were addressed in detail, and therefore could not connect with them or care about what happened to them.
There was quite a bit of stereotyping as well, which didn’t help. Selene’s character for instance profoundly annoyed me, particularly during the first third of the novel.

I get that this book isn’t supposed to be any of that. It certainly is like nothing I have ever read before. The world created here is unique and I am not oblivious to that. After 33%, revelations are made that explain why everyone seems to be either high or hallucinating or dreaming. However, the fact is I trudged through the book. I was mesmerised, granted, but still bored to a point because it all seemed like a waste of time and the villain was just plain ridiculous.
The ending was as bleak as the narrative and I finished the book feeling empty.

I think that if you can handle the prose you could enjoy this book quite a lot. As for me, I can say I was shocked and freaked out but not very entertained.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Jun 06 to Jun 11, 2016
GR Review

2 thoughts on “Dead Petals-An Apocalypse

Chat with me!

