The Conjuring 2

The Conjuring 2

Rating: 4/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
Lorraine and Ed Warren travel to north London to help a single mother raising four children alone in a house plagued by a malicious spirit.

Review:

I know it sounds a bit sick but when I heard a 65 year old man died watching this movie I just knew I had to watch it. It’s been so long since I got a good scare.

The setting in England was very refreshing. I loved everything about it. The family seemed very real.

The sets were amazing as well, particularly the house. It was so decrepit. I really felt for that poor family, living in those conditions.

As far as I am concerned, most of the performances were spot on. The girl playing Janet was pretty amazing at times.

And I did get good scares, although I could always see them coming.

Regarding the shortcomings, I would say the pacing was a bit off, the ending was somewhat rushed and convenient, the romance between the two investigators was a bit overdone – american style, I suppose – and some dialogues were just not good at all. Example:

– (…) entities like to kick you when you’re down.
– Well, that hardly seems fair.

It was just silly and I never really felt like that mother truly feared for her daughter’s sanity or safety.

The Conjuring 2 is still amongst the best horror movies I have watched lately, so I recommend it.

5 thoughts on “The Conjuring 2

  1. Pingback: June 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  2. You made some good points there. I checked on the web for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views
    on this web site.

    Like

    • Hi and thank you, sorry for the late reply but for some reason your post was filtered out as spam!

      I really appreciate your post, it is difficult when everyone else seems to think the opposite so that was nice!

      Thank you for stopping by :)

      Like

Chat with me!

