June 2016 Wrap-Up

June was pretty darn awesome, as I had a week off work. I managed to catch some sun, get plenty of rest and especially read a lot!

It was also my birthday so yep, feeling the weight of the years!

I even did an award post, I can’t even remember when I last did one of the sort.

Jolly good month; enjoyable reading, entertaining movies, good company and lovely nature – cannot ask for much more.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 6

Longest Read: Different Seasons (508 pages)

Shortest Read: The Gospel at Work: How Working for King Jesus Gives Purpose and Meaning to Our Jobs (160 pages)

Book of the Month: Different Seasons

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 29/50
2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 18/?


June Books:

 

I decided to read something completely different, so I went for The Gospel at Work, by Sebastian Traeger and Greg Gilbert.

The book addressed some interesting points but it was repetitive, I had trouble adjusting to the language and I am not sure I agree with everything stated there but I do feel Christians should read it, as they will surely take something out of it.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

I moved on to a Sci-fi novel, Broken Skies (Broken Skies #1) by Theresa Kay.

It was a fast-paced book with an interesting concept but the main character annoyed the heck out of me and I felt the book was aimed at much younger audiences.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

 

Dead Petals-An Apocalypse by Eric Ortlund was a very bizarre book.

I could never get into it because it was just too bleak and it felt a lot of nothing was happening but it is a unique book and I think fans of this sort of writing will love it.

I rated it 2.25/5.

 

 

I was quite surprised by Different Seasons by Stephen King.

The guy is my favourite author for a reason. He can write. Horror or otherwise, he can write stuff that will grab you by the collar and never let go.
These four novellas were very special.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

 

M Is for Magic by Neil Gaiman is an anthology of short stories, some had already been featured in other books.

It is difficult for me to fully appreciate short stories because I am just not a fan of the genre but I enjoyed most of them. I wish I had had more closure to some and a couple took me long to get through but it was still enjoyable and there sure is plenty of magic.

I rated it 3.75/5.

 

 

I can not even begin to tell you how disappointed I was at Blood, Ink & Fire by Ashley Mansour.

It had such interesting concepts but it never grasped me. Everything felt forced and I got no resolution whatsoever. It has got to be one of the worst books I have read. I simply cannot understand why so many people love it, unless it’s for the feels.

I rated it 1.25/5 stars.

 


Where I got the books:

Book Depository

  • Different Seasons
  • M Is for Magic

Netgalley:

  • The Gospel at Work
  • Broken Skies
  • Dead Petals-An Apocalipse
  • Blood, Ink & Fire

 

Movie Reviews:

 

Reblogs:

 

Other Posts in June:

 


How was June for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

11 thoughts on “June 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. It’s always lovely to get some time off around your birthday – I’m assuming the weather in your neck of the woods is a whole lot better than we’ve been having. So far this summer has been a total wash-out… You’ve also read some interesting books – Broken Skies looks interesting and it’s a shame you found the protagonist heavy-going. Here’s hoping that July is an equally good month for you:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly for the past few years the weather has been rather random. I went to the Algarve, south of the country, home of our best beaches and other touristic hotspots and even still I only managed to go to the beach for half a week, the weather really turned after that. I am really grateful for those 3 days though, they were lovely, just what I needed :)
      Yep, here’s to more reading in July! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

