Cujo

Title: Cujo

Author: Stephen King

Genres: Horror | Thriller

Length: 304 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

After chasing a rabbit, the usually friendly St Bernard, Cujo, begins acting oddly. He was bitten by a rabid bat but there is something much darker at place.

Review:

After finishing Cujo I am left with a bittersweet feeling. It was less than I had expected, I suppose.

King does a wonderful job setting up the characters and story, as usual, linking several pieces together to create a multi sided, intriguing picture, from the eldest character to the mailman to the more main characters.

I especially loved reading both Tad and Cujo’s thoughts and the alternating narrative points kept me interested. Each character had their own stuff to deal with. Donna was really the only one I could not connect with.

However, I had expected more from the story. Without getting too spoilery, we are told there is a certain evil at play, besides just plain rabies, which is nasty on its own. However, I felt this premise, which was really so important, was not nearly explored enough.

Also, there were too many coincidences to my taste. I realize that was the entire point, to make us wonder how a few well (or ill) timed coincidences can lead to such ghastly situations, but some just felt nonsensical to me, I believe people just wouldn’t act that way in such a situation. I can appreciate the thought, though.

The pacing also felt off but the last quarter or so of the book was unrelenting. The suspense was unbelievable and I can understand why some people would have nightmares reading that stuff.

Not everything was wrapped up nicely in the end but I did get enough closure and the ending was surprising enough.

I know King has a lot more to give so I was not utterly impressed. If it is true he wrote the entire book under the effect of cocaine and doesn’t even remember doing it I would say he did a pretty darn good job.

You can check out the buddy read topic here.

Read from Jul 3rd to Jul 12nd, 2016

GR Review

3 thoughts on “Cujo

  1. I read this as a teenager and was impressed at the time, then forgot most of it, unlike many other King books. I wouldn’t mind giving it a re-read to see how it strikes me now. Thanks for jogging some of my memory with your realistic review, Ana. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

