July 2016 Wrap-Up

July was a very busy month at work and so I tried my best to get some relax time, or I’d go nuts.

The weather was for the most part very pleasant and I managed to go to the beach most Sundays, which is one of my favourite things to do.

I did not read many books. I am sad to say I only managed to finish two, which were lengthier than my usual.

You see, around mid-month I start hearing about this new thing called Pokemon Go… How everyone is going around hunting for Pokemon and this huge community is forming, and the pros and cons of the game.

DSC_0027

Back in the day, I was quite the Pokemon fan, so this piqued my interest.

(Un)fortunately my phone is not compatible with the app. So I installed this free app called Evocreo instead, which is quite similar to the original Pokemon. It only lets you go so far without paying roughly 1 dollar so yep, I got the full version.
Great for those times when I just could not focus on reading but I have to admit it completely took over almost all my free time.

I watched some movies as well, most very good.

I would say that, even though there wasn’t much reading, it was a very nice month.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 2

Longest Read: Cujo (464 pages)

Shortest Read: The Man from Primrose Lane: A Novel (304 pages)

Book of the Month: The Man from Primrose Lane: A Novel

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 31/50
2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 18/?


July Books:

 

I began the month by finishing The Man from Primrose Lane: A Novel, by James Renner.

It was a book that took a whole lot of twists and turns. Confused the heck out of me.
I felt there was a good story hiding somewhere in there but it was covered by a whole lot of smoke and mirrors.
Pretty much everything was explained towards the end but by that time I had completely lost track. It’s my book of the month because it did surprise me quite a few times, whereas I had expected more from my favourite author.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

I then did a buddy read of, Cujo by Stephen King.

It was a scary book for the most part with well built characters but, being such a hardcore fan of King, I just felt that something was amiss.
There were certain aspects I would have liked to have seen developed and/or linked to bring the story to a whole new level.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 


Where I got the books:

Book Depository

  • The Man from Primrose Lane: A Novel
  • Cujo

 

Movie Reviews:

 

Reblogs:

 

Other Posts in July:

 


How was July for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

One thought on “July 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: August 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

